Pakistan v New Zealand | 2nd Test - Day 1 | Wellington | 3/12/09

Hopefully we bat well today.

Although most will agree that it might get ugly really quickly today.

win or lose it doesnt matter...the plastic generation always prevail..so im hoping moyo,akmal brothers score big and hope malik fails miserably!!

my predictions

butt 8 (24)
farhat 27 (40)
misbah 18 (43)
moyo 37 (62)
umer 87 (115)
malik 0 (1)
kamran 42 (67)
aamer 21 (32)
asif 3 (8)
gul 8 (13)
ajmal 7 (18)

248 ao

man farhat is a selfish *****. he knows how bad he played last match, he should be ashamed of himself that he took somebody's spot who deserves it more like alam.

Ajmal dropped for Kaneria? Why?

Farhat still in the startting 11? W T F is going on here?

I'm only staying up to watch Farhat fail again, that's my motivation. What's yours?

mindless slogging said:
You're only saying that cos Butt is playing.

If he was still out, you'd be giving a mouthful right about now. ;-)

haha true, but it would only be for a few mins...in the end, anybody who plays for Pakistan gets 100% of my support

kingusama92 said:
Hopefully we bat well today.

Although most will agree that it might get ugly really quickly today.

totally agree, this could get real ugly real quick. especially with two sitting ducks at the top. who knows misbah may be a sitting duck too.

I can't believe Farhat is back in the team after SINGLEHANDEDLY losing the 1st test.

Juggernaut said:
Ajmal dropped for Kaneria? Why?

Farhat still in the startting 11? W T F is going on here?

Butt, Farhat and Misbah is the top three I think.

Malik retained at 6.

Kaneria is there to give Peter Fulton some hitting practise afetr his kind gesture in the last test.

kashif77 said:
my predictions

butt 188 (324)
farhat 27 (40)
misbah 18 (43)
moyo 37 (62)
umer 87 (115)
malik 0 (1)
kamran 42 (67)
aamer 21 (32)
asif 3 (8)
gul 8 (13)
ajmal 7 (18)

428 ao

fixed :D

Very harsh to drop Ajmal after ONE poor game. And harsh to drop Fawad who has just come into the team after scoring a tremendous century on debut. VERY GENEROUS to see Farhat still playing after his performance in the last match.

harisj said:
I can't believe Farhat is back in the team after SINGLEHANDEDLY losing the 1st test.

We tend to keep match-winners in the team.

Inti just doesn't understand the part where players should be match-winners for your own team and not the opposition. He will learn as he gets older (Oh wait he's 70+ already).

zeshanalib said:
I support Salman Butt

u will need a support group after butts innings is over .. which will be in about 15 minutes :P

How long will the first session be? I have to plan my night carefully, have to get in some hours of sleep as well :D

yaar, abh tension lag gayi hai...c'mon openers, I for one am supporting both of you, please show some guts and determination!

WHAT DOES FARHAT HAVE ON THE PCB?

HOW IS HE POSSIBLY RETAINED OVER FAWAD!?

I'm RAVING mad right now.

It is seriously DISGUSTING how Farhat finds a place ahead of Fawad.

Fawad outperforms Farhat by miles in EVERY SINGLE aspect of cricket!

Farhat single-handedly caused Pakistan to lose the previous game. But he retains his spot ahead of a deserving Fawad. Why?

Because Farhat's father-in-law Mohammad Ilyas sits on a selection panel.

Say no to nepotism!! Our country's biggest enemy.

Pathetic stuff if manzoor and fawad can be dropped so should have been farhat and malik the meek still hiding at number 6! Seriously spoils your mood.

Cricinfo:Plenty of e-mails from fans criticising the retention of Imran Farhat in the line-up.

WE just need a good opening partnership, if we get that, we are gonna be well set to get a good score, and win inshallah!

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
yaar, abh tension lag gayi hai...c'mon openers, I for one am supporting both of you, please show some guts and determination!
I'm with you britha!!

What does that do to Fawad's confidence? He'll be watching his back in each inning for fear of being dropped. He should have been given all the tests in these two series to prove himself (preferably in the middle order, not the top)

Hope we don't have another Asim Kamal in the making.

Meaningless changes. We still have the same no of players who can't play seam bowling...Butt, Misbah, Shoib, and Imran.

Pak should have brought in Yasir in place of Danish. No sloution for openers.

Pakistani Selectors are going to ruin the Future of one more youngster (i.e. Fawad Alam). It is so un-just. Really I am cursing these people for playing Farhat & Salman Butt and Malik and Misbah over Fawad in this match.

Yousuf is hopeless case for me now as Captain. I don't know if he is for or against Fawad Personally, but even if he is in favour of Fawad still he has no balls to get him in. Instead of that he is making Damaad and Malik happy. What a shame.

my predictions for the playing eleven

1. S Butt 38 (63)
2. I Farhat 0 (1)
3. Misbah 26 ( 87)
4. Yousuf 42 (78)
5. U Akmal 86 (159)
6. Malik 18 (32)
7. K Akmal 55 (70)
8. Aamer 15 (31)
9. Gul 7 ( 18)
10. Asif 3 (10)
11. Kaneria 0 (1)

290 All out

mindless slogging said:
What bookies? They are bound to lose on this one.
Bet365 on the Cricinfo commentary page
Odds
NZ 3.1
Pak 2.5
Draw 2.75

yes sounds optimistic on Pak's part.

iZeeshan said:
WHAT DOES FARHAT HAVE ON THE PCB?

HOW IS HE POSSIBLY RETAINED OVER FAWAD!?

I'm RAVING mad right now.
I feel you dude. It's killing me. Mainly because I feel for Fawad. This has surely got to hurt him. The next time he gets to play, I can't imagine the kind of pressure he will feel.

From what I hear, Farhat's father-in-law sits on a selection committee in the PCB.

Saare jahan se acha pakistan hamara...hamara..saare jahan se acha

Punjab aur sind sarhad balochistan...kashmir bhi hai hamara,...India di aqqar no anga manga sanga da sir wariya.

jay paak jay paak, jay jay jay,,,,, jay pak
pakistan_flag_snow31.jpg

Nazir_ Rules said:
WE just need a good opening partnership, if we get that, we are gonna be well set to get a good score, and win inshallah!

Yes, we need a good total to begin with. We don't have to bat last, so that's good.

Romali_rotti said:
YESSSSSSSSSSS Salman Butt in the side :14:

Aren't you an India fan? That would explain it. (P.S. I don't know if you are a Pak fan or India fan. I have seen you post on India match threads tho).

Free Hit said:
Saare jahan se acha pakistan hamara...hamara..saare jahan se acha

Punjab aur sind sarhad balochistan...kashmir bhi hai hamara,...India di aqqar no anga manga sanga da sir wariya.

jay paak jay paak, jay jay jay,,,,, jay pak
pakistan_flag_snow31.jpg

Pakistan Zindabaad!

Meray pyare allah miyan leaders kitnay naak hain
hum ko dain woh sabar ka phal, khud woh khatay cake hain

meray pyare allah miyan yeh kasi taraki hay
murdo ki hain qabrain kachchi, zinda basti kachi hay

Shukriya Shukriya

btw match kub start ho raha hay logooo..

ok bhai logon, I'm going into the living room now to watch on the telly, let's put all the negativity aside and pray for our batsmen, they will certainly need it in these playing conditions!

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
ok bhai logon, I'm going into the living room now to watch on the telly, let's put all the negativity aside and pray for my Salman, he will certainly need it in these playing conditions!

Fixed!

Farhat better score some runs otherwise :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed:

saj001 said:
Farhat better score some runs otherwise :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed: :pissed:

Unfortunately that's not enough because of the catches he will inevitably drop...

jwizle said:
my predictions for the playing eleven

1. S Butt 0 (7)
2. I Farhat 0 (1)
3. Misbah 11 ( 87)
4. Yousuf 25 (35)
5. U Akmal 26 (4)
6. Malik 7 (17)
7. K Akmal 18 (32)
8. Aamer 48 (31)
9. Gul 1 ( 3)
10. Asif 6 (35)
11. Kaneria 85 (86)

not very many All out

wow some of you guys are pretty optimistic - good for you. thats my predicted line up

yusuf said that it doesn't matter if they win or lose. what an inspirational leader. i'm so impressed i've fallen in love with him.

I wont be surprise Malik was picked based on Bond not playing...all it takes Bond is over ro remove Malik...

no wonder we are the number 8 rank team in the 9 teams...jaisa desh waisa hi team..

malik is playing..shame on us

So we have 4 walking wickets in the top 6 and a guaranteed century from kaneria...shabaash! I'm sure NZ will appreciate the gesture...

I hate the Selectors, I hate the Captain. I have already lost half of my interest in the game.

umar akmal expected to bat at 3 the seniors not taking up the responsibility.

kashif77 said:
Misbah does.

Misbah for captain !!!
No he doesn't, he is another gutless wonder like Shoaib 'Kathak' Malik.

saadjhussain said:
yusuf said that it doesn't matter if they win or lose. what an inspirational leader. i'm so impressed i've fallen in love with him.

Yousuf is a loser - he has absolutely no sense of competition whatsoever. I always felt that his return would weaken the team and so it has.

All I can say about the playing eleven is corruption and incompetence from top to lowest level

farsiddiqui said:
Fawad doesn't get any margin of error. He should have scored a century in each of the innings to even hope for a chance.

'Kathak Mahraaj' (love this title, whoever came up with it) gets to play; Daamaad gets to play, but Fawad after all of three tests has shown all he can. Oh well! Let's hope they win it despite the team.
Where is Faisal zardari bhutto?this is so unfair on him.btw Mcboom came up with Kathak and I added maharaj as mark of respect for a senior player.