South Africa vs India | 2nd test | Ahmedabad | 3/4/2008 to 7/4/2008

Sheikh said:
The thing is that this pitch is pretty much a road as well. Sure there was a little bit of movement in the morning but that's to be expected on any pitch in any test match.

This is a just one bad day for our team. I will be more than happy if our batsman show some fine form to save the match :D

f.b.m said:
Even Kepler Wessels said half of the ball was pitching on line.

kepler feeling sorry for india ?

most umps wouldn't have given that out.

f.b.m said:
Even Kepler Wessels said half of the ball was pitching on line.

Yeah, Mckenzie also got a life early in his innings

srg said:
This is a just one bad day for our team. I will be more than happy if our batsman show some fine form to save the match :D
This is a reality... :))) :))) :)))

Rameez Raja really getting on my nerves :pissed: :pissed: :pissed:

the butt kisser trying to place the blame on the pitch.

good on whoever the other commie is for saying that the pitch is a good test wicket :14: :14: :14:

kashif77 said:
kepler feeling sorry for india ?

most umps wouldn't have given that out.

Most umpires would have given McKenzie out for the LBW appeal. What's your point? India is getting the benefit from umpires??

South Africa 86/1 (17.1 ov)
How long before somebody blames the pitch? How long before somebody says that India are not accustomed to these types of pitches? The fact is that if you want to be among the top 2 teams in the world, you have to be able to play on all pitches.

Where is that Romali_Roti dude who was dissing SA before the series begun?

rameez on crack - "indian's are great players on bouncy tracks"

if we can keep SA lead to less than 250 we are still in with a chance .....there is still a lot of time left in this match , if we bat well we can set a target of 250-270 ...which wont be easy on the 4th and final day pitch ....we will need to get them early though!

Ramiz Raja is talking straight out of his rear half. Blaming the wicket and now saying that Indian batsmen dont have the technique to survive on green wickets.

kashif77 said:
pffft .. umpires trying to save india now .. that ball pitched outside leg !

3.1 Singh to McKenzie, no run, Appeal.... RP pitches that full on off and middle gets it to cut back in with the angle, McKenzie gets a big stride forward and meets the ball off the base of the pad, RP appeals and Tony Hill shakes his head. Replays showed the ball hitting the stumps...hmm

dunno about saving!!!

Blitzkrieg said:
3.1 Singh to McKenzie, no run, Appeal.... RP pitches that full on off and middle gets it to cut back in with the angle, McKenzie gets a big stride forward and meets the ball off the base of the pad, RP appeals and Tony Hill shakes his head. Replays showed the ball hitting the stumps...hmm

dunno about saving!!!

Forget him dude. Just trolling like anything

kashif77 said:
rameez on crack - "indian's are great players on bouncy tracks"
Please don't insinuate that Rameez is on crack..........the man much prefers crystal meth.

Better pressure this from the Indians; they've got to limit run-scoring and make the saffies work for their runs. Pressure must be created to pick up wickets.

Sheikh said:
Please don't insinuate that Rameez is on crack..........the man much prefers crystal meth.

actually it isn't crack or meth .. it's indian rupees stuck up his butt .. :16: :16:

Sheikh_Ji said:
India proved why they are the Twenty20 champs - bowled out in exactly 20 overs

Give India more credit than that. If Steyn had been restricted to 4 overs as in a T20, India might have got to 100. ;-)

Sheikh said:
Better pressure this from the Indians; they've got to limit run-scoring and make the saffies work for their runs. Pressure must be created to pick up wickets.

well if they gotta have any chance in this game! they have to limit the run scoring! they are giving a 4 ball every over! which are not good signs!

kashif77 said:
actually it isn't crack or meth .. it's indian rupees stuck up his butt .. :16: :16:

yeh hez much better of with indian rupees then pakistani ones :))) :))) atleast indian ones got some value :)))

Blitzkrieg said:
yeh hez much better of with indian rupees then pakistani ones :))) :))) atleast indian ones got some value :)))

right man .. seems like the rupee is the only value in india currently :19: :19:

100 up for South Africa ...

Smith should consider declaring some time soon .. maybe sometime after tea ?

:16: :16:

Wow, Harbhajan actually tossed up a few and he's got rewarded for it. Now...will he continue?

kashif77 said:
right man .. seems like the rupee is the only value in india currently :19: :19:

well i dun think so it is the only! value but yeh even if it was better then suicide bombbers...thats only value u knw where!!

Blitzkrieg said:
well i dun think so it is th only! but yeh even if it was better then suicide bombbers...thats only only value u knw where!!

Good point! :))) :)))

good delivery from harbhajan to get rid of mckenzie and right at the stroke of tea!

Last time when India played here, Anil and Bhajji shared 17 wickets between them! Interesting!!

srg said:
Last time when India played here, Anil and Bhajji shared 17 wickets between them! Interesting!!

yeh i was reading that point.....but they had more runs on board and south africa lead already!

Random Aussie said:
ROMALI_ROTTI calling ROMALI

:))) :))) yeh where art thou.

If things keep going like this then it looks like i will have a new house in Broadmeadow to collect.....LOL :D

Kallis is really the key now; a big score from him could shut India out. India should look to pile on the pressure.

Blitzkrieg said:
well i dun think so it is the only! value but yeh even if it was better then suicide bombbers...thats only value u knw where!!

thats real smart coming from a country that overwhelmingly reelects leaders responsible for disgusting genocides.

oh do recall what happened a few years ago in the state where the current match is being played.

kashif77 said:
thats real smart coming from a country that overwhelmingly reelects leaders responsible for disgusting genocides.

oh do recall what happened a few years ago in the state where the current match is being played.

took u too long to reply!! searching internet for history lessons may be?and what is the result a unrelaible source!

if SA don get a lead of 200+ , we will win this one comfortably in the end .

Blitzkrieg said:
took u too long to reply!! searching internet for history lessons may be?and what is the result a unrelaible source!

no.. i didn't need to search the net to come up with that .. u see ... i don't have a selective memory like u folks have.

jusarrived said:
if SA don get a lead of 200+ , we will win this one comfortably in the end .

here is a stat which i just saw on cricinfo!

Only five times has a team won after scoring less than 100 in the first innings of a Test. The last time it happened was more than 100 years ago, in 1907.

itz gonna be some kinda miracle if india win! but i like miracles ;-)

Harbhajan Singh to Prince, OUT, India strike back and how.....Harbhajan comes round the wicket to Prince, it pitches just in line with offstump, the ball grips on the surface and straightens, Prince leaves a big gap between pad and bat as he tries to defend and the ball strikes him in line with off stump, Tony Hill has an easy decision

hey kashif buddy u got any problems with that??? i guess harbhajan coming round the wicket is too unlikely for a LBW ??

Blitzkrieg said:
Harbhajan Singh to Prince, OUT, India strike back and how.....Harbhajan comes round the wicket to Prince, it pitches just in line with offstump, the ball grips on the surface and straightens, Prince leaves a big gap between pad and bat as he tries to defend and the ball strikes him in line with off stump, Tony Hill has an easy decision

hey kashif buddy u got any problems with that??? i guess harbhajan coming round the wicket is too unlikely for a LBW ??

Bhajji :19: :27: :27:

OK OK This is the rudest awakening ever, *** happened ? I tought the test was supposed to start tommorow :O.. HOLY GODDDDDDD

Blitzkrieg said:
here is a stat which i just saw on cricinfo!

Only five times has a team won after scoring less than 100 in the first innings of a Test. The last time it happened was more than 100 years ago, in 1907.

itz gonna be some kinda miracle if india win! but i like miracles ;-)

actually , we might not need a miracle here ...... 200 lead means , india will have to score 45-500 runs in second innings , which they should be able to do with better application ...& no way is SA chasing 250+ here .

jusarrived said:
actually , we might not need a miracle here ...... 200 lead means , india will have to score 45-500 runs in second innings , which they should be able to do with better application ...& no way is SA chasing 250+ here .

Dude forget it the way Sreesanth is bowling we are not going to set SA 250 odd to win, be lucky if we setup 100 for them to chase

jusarrived said:

well i dont see india scoring 450+ in there second innings! with south afircans bowling so well!

jusarrived said:

It's not a forgone conclusion that you can go from 76 to 450 runs, it may have happened on a past occasion but Steyn and Morkel will come out all guns blazing and the pressure will mostly be on the batsmen, even with the reduced assistance for bowlers it's going to be tough.

Blitzkrieg said:
well i dont see india scoring 450+ in there second innings! with south afircans bowling so well!

haha watch out for SA bowling wen this pitch bcoms like the chennai one by tomorrow !

De Villiers has a big role to play. He needs to support Kallis and bat for quite a while if S.A are to take a substantial lead. Good to see some interesting test cricket again!

Where are all the posters who said they'd watch the ICL over test cricket in the subcontinent any day of the week?

dblock said:
It's not a forgone conclusion that you can go from 76 to 450 runs, it may have happened on a past occasion but Steyn and Morkel will come out all guns blazing and the pressure will mostly be on the batsmen, even with the reduced assistance for bowlers it's going to be tough.

i agree! its the added pressure! playing under a deficit of 150+ runs can be tricky!!

Intresting match on our hands. A shambolic performance by the Indian batsmen getting shot out for 76. India need to keep South Africa to under 230 to have a chance in this game.

Dangerous partnership this for India. They need to break it before the lead crosses 100 or else they'll be looking at a deficit of 200+

Sheikh said:
Dangerous partnership this for India. They need to break it before the lead crosses 100 or else they'll be looking at a deficit of 200+

well they need to get kallis! he seems to be scoring freely..

Blitzkrieg said:
well they need to get kallis! he seems to be scoring freely..
Both of em are dangerous. Kallis can bat and bat and haul them to a big score, whilst A.B is usually the one who scores quickly and would be instrumental in getting the saffies quick runs. Boucher is no mug either. Ideally they need a couple of wickets tonight and get into that tail.

S.A, on the other hand, would look to bat out the rest of the session without losing a wicket and aim to take the game away from India in the morning session tomorrow. The next 3 hours of cricket will determine their respective fates.

Blitzkrieg said:
hey u from austria too ??
Yeah. I have a decent chance of knowing you.

on topic: Defensive field settings get on my nerves.

Good fight back from India during my afternoon nap. Nice partnership from kallis and amla. S.A need a 150-250 lead considering that india will probably come out to bat second on the best time for batting ...day team and 3 and then south africa will have to bat again on the worse time for batting .

She's definitely cute but I'd have to ask for her driving license before I attempt anything...

f.b.m said:
Yeah. I have a decent chance of knowing you.

on topic: Defensive field settings get on my nerves.

u frm wien??

R.P leking some easy runs here...

Mohali 99 was similar. Dion Nash ran through us and then there were runs galore on a featherbed 4th day pitch.

The only thing the Saffies should worry about is a fourth innings chase... definitely not their forte. :)

Blitzkrieg said:
u frm wien??

R.P leking some easy runs here...
Yeah RP has been crap. Probably carrying a niggle or something.

Let me guess, youre from 23. Bezirk? I'm from 3.

Remember in chennai...take away sehwag and the rest of the Indian bastmen struggled to score fluently . If the track is just offering slightly more movement then there's no reason for india to be confident of scoring 400-500 in the second innings.

Anyway if they can it will sure make for an interesting game...in which still anyone can win given that it will turn from day 3........much more interesting match than chennai that's for sure . But the commentaters already saying that india should never have prepared this track. Poor india..welcome to years more of boring test cricket .

f.b.m said:
Yeah RP has been crap. Probably carrying a niggle or something.

Let me guess, youre from 23. Bezirk? I'm from 3.

well R.P has been a touch unlucky too..shoud have mckenzie to start with! and good balls have gone to the boundary!!

no im 12ten bezirk! ich studiere auf der Wu...und du?

good umpiring...are the indians complaining yet...

Lately we've chased many high(200 plus) 4th innings scores on turning wickets . Against pakistan and india for two examples .

saffer, stop being soo optimistic for the indians! the reality is far from it. SA WILL WIN!

Blitzkrieg said:
well R.P has been touch unlucks too..shoud have mckenzie to start with! and good balls have gone to the boundary!!

Arey bhai, kya keh raha hai?

The lead is past 100 and it's just starting to get away from India now...

saffer, stop being soo optimistic for the indians! the reality is far from it. SA WILL WIN!

i'm not . If S.a don't get a big lead (less than 150) and india can score 300 plus...S.a will have a very difficult chase come the last days .

saffer said:
i'm not . If S.a don't get a big lead (less than 150) and india can score 300 plus...S.a will have a very difficult chase come the last days .
have to agree with saffer here...chasing more then 200+ on this pitch would be difficult...

saffer said:

India are gone. More than 100 runs behind at the end of the first day with 6 Saffers still to get out.

Weakened batting attack against fired up and confident Saffer quicks. RA predicts India will not make SA chase more than 50 unless Sehwag goes mad again.

one the other hand if S.a get a 200 lead india will be under the knife...still not out of it though . That to me puts this game in an interesting position. Conditions originally helped south africa and from here on in they will help india .

Random Aussie said:
India are gone. More than 100 runs behind at the end of the first day with 6 Saffers still to get out.

Weakened batting attack against fired up and confident Saffer quicks. RA predicts India will not make SA chase more than 50 unless Sehwag goes mad again.
on this pitch? :))) i dont think so! :D

Random Aussie said:

RA the new GURU!!

Blitzkrieg said:
well R.P has been a touch unlucky too..shoud have mckenzie to start with! and good balls have gone to the boundary!!

Yeah, fair enough he wasnt very lucky, but didnt create enough chances imo.

and btw, Österreich ist nur für den Ferien.