So today is the day!

The match: India v Pakistan
Time: 18:00 (local), Sunday 24 October
Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/6wexj6" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Pakistan have already announced their 12 (XI to be chosen today) and India are quietly confident about maintaining their streak.

And if you needed reminding of the overall record:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India versus Pakistan overall record:<br><br>Matches played 199<br>Pakistan wins 86<br>India wins 71<br>Draws 38<br>No Result 4<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1451923359311224842?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 23, 2021</a></blockquote>

The excitement continues to build up.

==
Few contests in any sport demand the attention that India-Pakistan encounters do. It is a rivalry laced with the richest of sporting history between two cricket-mad nations that have produced some of the game’s most iconic players and moments.

Imran Khan and Kapil Dev. Waqar Younis, Wasim Akhtar and Shoaib Akhtar. Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly. Babar Azam and Virat Kohli.

The history they share of course added another brilliant chapter in the first-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup when they clashed in the final, which India won. Just two years later Pakistan got their hands on the trophy to erase whatever scars existed from the 2007 defeat. Neither side has won it since but not for a want of trying.

From Joginder Sharma’s clutch final over in the 2007 decider to Kohli’s masterclass in the group stage in 2016, and Mohammad Amir’s scintillating spell in the Champions Trophy 2017 Final, matches between India and Pakistan have regularly produced cricket of the highest calibre. Expect that trend to continue on tonight when Kohli and Azam’s teams clash at Dubai.

Moving away from their rivalry, at its core this is a match that brings some of the game’s most exciting players onto the same field.

Kohli vs Azam is a battle of captains, a battle of cover drives, a battle of two men who have unrelenting pursued excellence. Kohli boasts the most runs in men’s T20I history (3159) at the best average (52.65) of any player the format has seen. Babar is making up ground quickly on the run tally (2204) and has the third-best average (46.89) in the format. His opening partner, Mohammad Rizwan, sits second for average at 48.40. They are all consistency personified in a format not known for it. Throw in the likes of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Mohammad Hafeez and you’re looking at two batting orders capable of scoring in any conditions.

Both teams feature classy quicks in the shape of Jasprit Bumrah, Shaheen Afridi and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and a vast array of spinners on the bowling front.

These are two teams evenly matched in every facet and both will be fully aware of how damaging a loss would be to their trophy ambitions.

Key Players

Babar Azam

Leading his side in an ICC event for the first time and playing at the T20I World Cup for the first time, Azam goes into this match firmly established as one of the format’s best batters. Averaging 46.89 across 61 T20Is, Azam has raced passed 2000 T20I runs in the blink of an eye and shows no signs of stopping. Tonight’s encounter will be his first ever T20I against India and he will be keen to show the old rivals why he is so hyped.

Virat Kohli

While Azam is making his tournament debut, Kohli has owned this tournament. The Player of the Tournament in 2014 and 2016, Kohli averages 86.33 in T20 World Cup cricket. Across 16 innings at the event, he has passed fifty nine times. Two of those fifties have come against Pakistan, who have never got him out. You suspect they’ll have to end that unbeaten run if they are going to thwart India tonight.

The Teams

There are two major questions for India to answer and they both surround their attack: Bhuvneshwar Kumar or Mohammed Shami and Ravichandran Ashwin or Varun Chakravarthy?

Given he was given the chance to play both warm-ups, Kumar looks likely to play ahead of Shami but it’s anyone’s guess which was India go with their specialist spinner.

India possible XI: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy/Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Pakistan confirmed a 12-man squad on match eve.

Pakistan possible XI: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez/Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi

What they said

Virat Kohli, India captain, on Hardik Pandya's presence with the bat: "What he brings at that No. 6 spot is something that you just can't create overnight, and hence I was always in favour of backing him in Australia as a batter purely, and we saw what he did in the T20 series and how he can take the game away from the opposition when he's in full flow."

Babar Azam, Pakistan captain, on Pakistan's mindset: "We have forgotten what we have done in the past and we are trying to focus on the future. We will try to do better on the field in this match and we will try to produce better results."

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

5. Report abuse. If you see any post which is inappropriate, report it. Do not respond to it

India the favorite without a doubt, They had always been able to handle pressure situaiton better, Even when Pak team was stronger on paper historically the pressure got to them.

But this lower expectation of Pak team might help them to free up.

Hoping for a close contest (but it might turn our one sided affair)

India 95 Pakistan 5. Not only we have 3 overaged players but also mentally weak and untalented players.

Pakistan must have to win this, to bring some life to this rivalry, otherwise its dying

Just hope we keep an eye on NRR - don't want NZ going ahead based on that!

According to reports, Chakravarty will not be playing.
India might go in with this XI

Rahul
Rohit
Kohli
SKY
Pant
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Ashwin
Shami
Bumrah

According to cricbuzz, Chakravarty will not be playing.

Rahul
Rohit
Kohli
SKY
Pant
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Ashwin
Shami
Bumrah

If India do not play Ishan and Varun C then I would say it is risky, KL, Jadeja, Thakur Bumrah are the 4 in form players. Others are struggling a bit so my preference will be In form Kishan over SKY and inform Varun over Ashwin.

I think this will be a low scoring game. And I don't mind if we play Haider Ali instead of Asif but at no. 3 or 4.

Babar
Rizwan
Haider
Fakhar
Hafeez
Malik
Hasan
Imad
Shadab
Shaheen
Haris

If India do not play Ishan and Varun C then I would say it is risky, KL, Jadeja, Thakur Bumrah are the 4 in form players. Others are struggling a bit so my preference will be In form Kishan over SKY and inform Varun over Ashwin.

Yes kishan being a lefty would definitely help India in that left-right combo up at the top. I guess they are picking Ashwin over Varun because of his experience because on current form definitely Varun deserves to play ahead.

Reports saying Varun isn't 100% fit, has some problem with his knees.

Playing TTFs like Jadeja and Ashwin is asking for trouble. Our spin stocks are so pathetic!!!!!

Match of the tournament, not only because of the rivalry. But because I genuinely believe these are the 2 best sides in these conditions and red hot favorites to make the final. Both sets of batsmen will teach the SENA and Windies hacks how to bat in slightly challenging conditions.

Quite possibly these 2 teams will meet again in the final.. Just hope our team can get a good measure if this Indian side and stretch them. Don't want an ordinary performance again

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> last 6 T20Is at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium:<br><br>Won v New Zealand<br>Won v New Zealand<br>Won v Australia<br>Won v Australia<br>Won v West Indies<br>Won v West Indies<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1452182230667829252?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2021</a></blockquote>

Reports saying Varun isn't 100% fit, has some problem with his knees.

Playing TTFs like Jadeja and Ashwin is asking for trouble. Our spin stocks are so pathetic!!!!!

Jadeja is fine, he adds value with his batting and fielding. Ashwin is a risky option to be honest

Match of the tournament, not only because of the rivalry. But because I genuinely believe these are the 2 best sides in these conditions and red hot favorites to make the final. Both sets of batsmen will teach the SENA and Windies hacks how to bat in slightly challenging conditions.

AGREED!! Can't wait!!

I'm not even gonna bother with Rauf but Hasan Ali has to summon his inner beast, fuel the generator and let rip. This is the tournament right here. This is a monkey that need picking up and slamming down. Batters need to attack!. Spinners will need the fielders to have had their coffee.

This is the day!. MAUKAAAA!

Reckon Pakistan will be favourites in a low scoring match.

India the favourites if the par score is 180+

Apparently we have lost all the matches when we score below 160. :(

I'm scared streety!

I'd advise you to be prepared for anything. India could easily collapse to a low score like the South Africans did yesterday. Every record is meant to be broken one day. We like to have fun about it at the expense of the parosis but logically speaking, it's practically impossible for a record to keep continuing for eternity. Pakistan has been carrying this ghost on its back for 30 years now, but it has to end one day or the other surely. Who knows, tonight might be the day when Pakistan finally gets rid of the vetaal off its back and exorcise its demons after 3 long decades.

images (24).jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Important baat <a href="https://twitter.com/babarazam258?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@babarazam258</a> : <br>Sab se pehle, Aap nay ghabrana nahi hai :)</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1452185972242780161?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Rahul
Rohit
Kohli
SKY
Pant
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Ashwin
Shami
Bumrah

India is going to win this regardless of what team they put out. Pakistan have literally only got 3 capable batters and 1 bowler.
I'm not even bothering to watch the game, prefer to be bored at the shops than watching Pakistan get thrashed!

I'd advise you to be prepared for anything. India could easily collapse to a low score like the South Africans did yesterday. Every record is meant to be broken one day. We like to have fun about it at the expense of the parosis but logically speaking, it's practically impossible for a record to keep continuing for eternity. Pakistan has been carrying this ghost on its back for 30 years now, but it has to end one day or the other surely. Who knows, tonight might be the day when Pakistan finally gets rid of the vetaal off its back and exorcise its demons after 3 long decades.

View attachment 112601

Thank you for advice big brother. We gonna have to let the streak go sometime. Om Shanti.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> last 6 T20Is at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium:<br><br>Won v New Zealand<br>Won v New Zealand<br>Won v Australia<br>Won v Australia<br>Won v West Indies<br>Won v West Indies<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1452182230667829252?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2021</a></blockquote>

Good chance for Pakistan to win a WC game against India.

we already won half way as azam k was dropped from squad, atleast we wont suffer the memes barrage from indian fans

India - any 11 better than Pakistan.
Players from Pakistan who should have been in the final 11 but will miss out due to incomprehensible selection - Nawaz, Dahani, Fahim Ashraf, Sarfaraz Ahmed

Let them bat first then we might have a chance , India will chase anything we put up and knowing Babar and Rizwan reluctant start we can forget of posting anything above 185 and it will be a walk in the park for India to chase.

By the way let's see Azam has the gut to play Haider in place of Asif Ali

Let them bat first then we might have a chance , India will chase anything we put up and knowing Babar and Rizwan reluctant start we can forget of posting anything above 185 and it will be a walk in the park for India to chase.

By the way let's see Azam has the gut to play Haider in place of Asif Ali

More importantly does Babar have the guts to come down at 3 and give a free hand to the openers

Good chance for Pakistan to win a WC game against India.

Nah 7 is heaven for India. They are too good to lose against bakistan. Tough ask for Pakistani batters getting their heads out the trough on tricky wicket. They'll need to show great application in fidld otherwise even 300 is Academic. They need to set the agenda and keep themselves in check. Obviously india is too clever for Pakistan. 3 billion hearts always have more karmic energy than few hundred millionion.

No hope when you play losers like Hafeez and Malik.

Only a miracle from Fakhar or Shaheen can do it for Pak.

80 / 20 India to win.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Important baat <a href="https://twitter.com/babarazam258?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@babarazam258</a> : <br>Sab se pehle, Aap nay ghabrana nahi hai :)</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1452185972242780161?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lol, this is such an attention seeking stuff from Shoaib.

No hope when you play losers like Hafeez and Malik.

Only a miracle from Fakhar or Shaheen can do it for Pak.

80 / 20 India to win.

both will be very important as will Kohli and Rohit for India.

These are not pattas but 140 type pitches. Power hitting won't work as WI found out yesterday

both will be very important as will Kohli and Rohit for India.

These are not pattas but 140 type pitches. Power hitting won't work as WI found out yesterday

No, dont agree. Hafeez has flopped so many times during ICC events. He starts sweating before a ball is bowled. Nothing to do with big hitting or application, both Hafeez and Malik are huge flops. Its a tragedy to see those 2 names.

Go Pakistan.

Now it is time to be positive and back the players. Nothing is impossible when you work hard.

InshAllah the streak will end today. All things, good or bad, have to come to an end. Nothing lasts forever.

That Indian players are likely to dominate individuals battles today is a given, some battles which may tilt the balance to be equal.

Fakhar hitting sixes to Indian spinners if he stays till then
Asif Ali hitting sixes to Indian pacers
Harris Rauf getting Indian middle order wickets, if it gets to that

Go Pakistan.

Now it is time to be positive and back the players. Nothing is impossible when you work hard.

InshAllah the streak will end today. All things, good or bad, have to come to an end. Nothing lasts forever.

Looks like the sun rise from west today :)

Go Pakistan.

Last thing we need is you jinxing us. There's no way Pakistan is winning this, were gonna be rolled over in 30 minutes.

Go Pakistan.

Pakistan getting thrashed today is guaranteed now. Indians don’t need to use this reverse-psychology to jinx this contest, our team is rubbish.

Go Pakistan.

Wishful thinking.india simply have to show up. So much power skill, talent. gabbar, virat, chahal. nach bharat

Even with the blessings of the Hindu Trinity of Lord Shiva, Brahma and Vishnu,(in fact the entire 33 million pantheon) I dont see India winning this.

This upcoming Pakistan win will usher in a golden era of Pakistan methinks. My only hope is if we can lose somehow with some dignity left. Kohli should be perma- banned for life from Indian cricket after this crushing loss. :(

If India win the toss then there is no point in watching as pak have players like Rauf, Hassan and afridi as the seam attack who are all so expensive and will collapse under the pressure

Even if India bat first and scored 70, you just know pak would struggle with getting that total.

Honestly pak have about 5% chance of beating India in WC games.

Wishful thinking.india simply have to show up. So much power skill, talent. gabbar, virat, chahal. nach bharat

Wishful thinking, I love how you think it’s going to be easy and India will steamroll this number 1 Pak team! We shall see…

By the end of this match, Babar Azam will be remembered by Pakistani fans as the one who ended Kohli's T20 career, just like how he ended Steyn's career.

All hail Babar!

By the end of this match, Babar Azam will be remembered by Pakistani fans as the one who ended Kohli's T20 career, just like how he ended Steyn's career.

All hail Babar!
I'm looking forward to the slogs, sweeps, cover punches. Sheer beauty of the lotus

If India win the toss then there is no point in watching as pak have players like Rauf, Hassan and afridi as the seam attack who are all so expensive and will collapse under the pressure

Even if India bat first and scored 70, you just know pak would struggle with getting that total.

See, im agreeing india is favourite, thats why i have stake in this

But some posters / brothers - need to please humbly calm down & not get into individual bashing etc.

Again, may the best team win.
Good luck to all fans .

Nice to see everyone is expecting their opponent to win.

Good stuff.

Wonder what really lies in hearts.

Nice to see everyone is expecting their opponent to win.

Good stuff.

Wonder what really lies in hearts.

Reality.

I have seen hafeez and malik lose so many games vs India. I would have hoped if those 2 would not have played, mind you India would still be expected to win. How ever these 2 do not deserve to be there.

Rahul
Rohit
Kohli
SKY
Pant
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Ashwin
Shami
Bumrah

Not a bad XI and good not to see Bhuvan in there, he's had his chances, and hopefully the practice match was his last in an indian shirt.

The one change i migth, would be Varun for hardik. You need 6 bowlers as any one can have an off day-shardul gives that flexibility and also whoomph in the batting.
If HP cannot bowl, i dont think he should be selected, i wish they'd replaced him with the dashing Venki Iyer

Why do u say that? i feel Pak pace attack is awesome.
I feel on low bounce wickets especially under lights, a skiddy bowler like hasan ali would be a handful.
He's my fav pak guy, has the heart of a lion always gives his 100 pc, runs in with passion and not a bad batsman either. Very underated.

Forget about match result, who is gonna do double wicket over from India ? and who will be at receiving end from Pakistan? May be Hafeez and Asif Ali.

According to the curator, the Poms Windies game pitch will be used for today’s game. So expect a low scoring match, may be 150-160 is par.

I am just enjoying game, i have seen pak winning nehru cup 89, 92 world cup, austra asia 90/94, 09, 17, been lucky to see wins. Therefore its all about enjoyment no issue even if we lose.

According to some reports:

Pakistan has finalized its T20 playing XI for the high-voltage match against India at Dubai International Stadium today, dropping Haider Ali, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

Pakistan team final: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Muhammad Rizwan, Sohaib Malik, Muhammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Hassan Ali, and Haris Rauf.

The TV channel quoting its sources said that the team was finalized yesterday night.

And they are on the way...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/f3koy6" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

And they are on the way...

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 55.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/f3koy6" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Matty Hayden looks like he enjoyed the biryani buffet last night.

Go Pakistan.

Post of the day
Best ever post from you

This will be a close affair. Pressure would be on both sides, Pakistan obviously with all those statements made since the cancelled tour of NZ, and India with the overwhelming favourites tag, expectations from fans for nothing less than a convincing win.

Hope the pitch allows a decent game of cricket

Reality.

I have seen hafeez and malik lose so many games vs India. I would have hoped if those 2 would not have played, mind you India would still be expected to win. How ever these 2 do not deserve to be there.

Malik has won so many games v India. I would even say his career progressed due to performances v India.

Hafeez struggles v swing but there isnt any here

Malik has won so many games v India. I would even say his career progressed due to performances v India.

Hafeez struggles v swing but there isnt any here

That was in bilaterals....Malik hasn't done anything in WCs

Not a bad XI and good not to see Bhuvan in there, he's had his chances, and hopefully the practice match was his last in an indian shirt.

The one change i migth, would be Varun for hardik. You need 6 bowlers as any one can have an off day-shardul gives that flexibility and also whoomph in the batting.
If HP cannot bowl, i dont think he should be selected, i wish they'd replaced him with the dashing Venki Iyer

Yes Venki Iyer would have been a really useful addition in the squad. But I guess they did not want to really risk debuting him in a world cup.

How is Asif Ali, Hafeez, Haris Rauf and Shadab Khan playing ahead of Nawaz, Dahani, Qadir and Haider Ali. It doesn't make sense.

Asil Ali - he hit SA pacers
Hafeez- Experience
Haris Rauf - 150 kmph
Shadab Ali - proven all round caliber

Pakistan will be massive favourites.
I just hope India doesn’t take beating like CT17 final and lags behind in NRR.

Hoping for narrow margin defeat but with Chokli in command, I doubt it.