Test 1 - Day 4 - Eng v Pak @ lords (commentary thread) [16/7/06]

Bell struggling against Afridi, we need to get him early.

Things getting a little hot for Bell Babu ?

38.5 Afridi to Bell, no run, short of length delivery, a lot quicker, lot of turn too, Bell is squared up, Afridi goes towards Bell and claps virtually under his nose

Shahid Afridi to Bell, no run, huge rip, turn, bounce and flies past at more than 60mph. Bell is squared up and, frankly, he’s lucky the ball misses his bat and the off stick

A gully has been brought in for the new batsman.
Cracking over from Kaneria, to match Afridi’s efforts of the over before. Pakistan’s tails are up right now. What’s next? Keep reading to find out

end of a superb over by danish 154-4

and that is tea as well i think...yep its tea

good session for Pakistan at the end there

29 overs

103 runs

3 wkts

Following session, IMO, could make or break this game, as far as result is concern. England, leading by 230+ ATM, would be looking to bat out entire session to post possible a target around 325-350 by stumps. From Pakistan's perspective, a couple of quickies in post-tea time could well brighten the chances of England getting out under a Lead of 300....

Crossing fingers...

20609kp.jpg

Nice going by Pakistan, have reduced England to 4 down. If they can get Strauss and another 2 wickets, we may have a chance at winning. But Strauss for sure. Nice to see Gul pick up wickets, along with Kaneria and Afridi.

p.s my f-team is down the drain

Strauss will not risk a first test loss to a spirited Pak batting performance in 2nd innings - we need to put ourselves in his shoes - he doesnt have spinner other than Panesar and 330-350 will not be enough...

:14:
Excellent work done by afridi and kaneria in taking two very vital and important wickets. Pakistan have england under pressure, strauss shoulders are burdened with only bell and jones remaining of the specialist batsmen. Pakistan next targets are strauss, bell and jones. After tea pakistan must strike quickly, bell and strauss need to be send to pavillion quickly. Shukar hai ALLAH ka two qucik wickets mili hain pakistan ko.

Come on afridi and kaneria KILL ENGLAND. INSHALLAH :19:

Strauss will not risk a first test loss to a spirited Pak batting performance in 2nd innings - we need to put ourselves in his shoes - he doesnt have spinner other than Panesar and 330-350 will not be enough...
yup but InshAllah we need to finish them off b4 300 so Pakistan have a bit of an advantage in chasing.

I agree with you miggy bhai, strauss is under immense pressure right now. I think he will perhaps settle for a draw. But pakistan must go for the KILL :30: INSHALLAH.

Shahid Afridi to continue with his ridiculously fast legbreaks :)))

Welcome back. Marvellous to be with you this afternoon. Here come the two umpires, Steve Bucknor and Simon Taufel. It's a little bit cloudy, and decidedly muggy too, but certainly no rain on the way. And here come the Pakistan fielders followed by the two England batsmen, Ian Bell and Andrew Strauss

Hmmm cloudy and muggy huh, well we must take full advantage of these conditions. Go afridi get us another one, go kaneria get us another wicket..go pakistan KILL england ! :19:

So does a reverse Karachi await England ( the fading light and Nasser Husseins victory at NSK ) ?

I think we may see some attacking stroke play from England... trick is for Pak to not to panic.

42.6 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, good drift and turn outside off, Strauss pads it away

42.5 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, the wrong’un, pushed past Strauss who reads it and avoids playing it

42.4 Shahid Afridi to Bell, 1 run, oooh, quicker ball on middle stump – the zooter, perhaps – and Bell is hurried into a backward defensive shot which goes down the legside allowing a quick single

42.3 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, 1 run, tosses this up on middle stump but Strauss has enough time to work it around the corner for a single

42.2 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, straighter and resolutely defended by the left-handed Strauss

42.1 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, pushes this wide of Strauss’s off stump and ignored by the batsman

Excellent over by afridi. England scared, be very afraid now ! MASHALLAH great effort by pakistan.

Staruss is the key here. if he stays Engalnd may well get past 350 but if gets out now then InshAllah we could finish them off b4 300.

43.4 Danish Kaneria to Strauss, no run, oooh, bit of drift away from Strauss before turning into him, his forward defensive shot misses the ball

Fantastic kaneria, keep it up boy, INSHALLAH you will get strauss.

This looks bad for both teams. England trying to recover, and Pakistan trying make sumthing happen. We need to get them down to the wire, at lestStrauss has to go.

Bring back the pacemen, bring back the pacemen. Two spinners on in tandem is mighty hard work for us lot here. Fascinating to watch, mind :D

44.6 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, straighter, Strauss clips him to short midwicket

44.5 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, ha, this is excellent bowling – outside Strauss’s off stump but he will not be lured, yet, into driving

44.4 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, pushed off the back foot to cover

44.3 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, tossed up on middle stump and Strauss meets the ball, deadening the spin

44.2 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, again, no turn from Afridi – clearly a ploy. Might he go around the wicket?

44.1 Shahid Afridi to Strauss, no run, interesting, this one holds its line and zips through to Akmal. Left alone by Strauss

Good to see the commentators enjoying the double trouble of leg spin duo afridi and kaneria ;-)

I can feel another wicket here. Bell might go first i think INSHALLAH. Pakistan must maintain this pressure, this period of play will probably decide the fate of the match.

All brothers recite darood shareef and make dua that strauss and bell are dismissed in 1 or 2 overs INSHALLAH. I am going to do wuzu and recite darood.

If england lose a wicket here now the rest incoming batsmen will get out quickly due to mounting pressure to survive, they will either make mistakes and get out or will be dismissed on wicket taking deliveries.

Need a quick wicket right NOWWWW .....i am going to do wuzu and recite darood shareef. Brothers make dua for quick wickets.

chains starting to come loose

this is the time to pick up a wicket .... if they can

Someone raised an interesting point that Strauss will not want to lose his first test (obvious). As the English are having problems with the spinners they might employ a defensive approach to ensure that they don't lose. The test rests on this session.

it seems very much like a point where you know something has got to give the pressure is building to a point where you can cut it with a knife

175-4 england

lead of 258

The_Cricket_Devil said:
it seems very much like a point where you know something has got to give the pressure is building to a point where you can cut it with a knife

175-4 england

lead of 258

With Bell at the crease i;m inclined to believe that England will pursue the defensive approach. From listening It seems that England are finding the singles easily. Inzi should perhaps bring in the field.

Should Danish come around the wicket to Strauss and target the rough?

off_the_hook said:
With Bell at the crease i;m inclined to believe that England will pursue the defensive approach. From listening It seems that England are finding the singles easily. Inzi should perhaps bring in the field.

Should Danish come around the wicket to Strauss and target the rough?

even the singles are not coming all that easily but perhaps dani could try an around the wicket approach