Third Test match between England and Pakistan ends in a draw as England win series 1-0

Ye hui na baat. It’s difficult to recognise a tree as apple, then sell the fruits as orange ..... better, sell it as apple and try to find reasons why customer will buy your apple - it’ll work.

Bhi yahan koi bhi nahin keh raha hai key hum England sey behtar hain. Lekin is mein koi shak nahin key buri team key bawajood kahin kahin acha perform kiya hai. So potential is there just need more brave selections and rid of non performers who had 100s of chances .

Some people forget loosing our 1st 3 games at the 92 World Cup, then being bowled out for 74 by England, followed by 3 hours of rain which saved us!

No we lost the winnable match against SA due to rain which initially cost us

Enough of this doom and gloom, I am more than happy with our overall performance, only that one session madness with bat one with bowl was the difference, and I do agree overall England is better team in theses conditions and Pak need changes specifically in batting to get even better, but we fave good account of ourselves and better than many expected, in third test rain did help but considering how flat the pitch, even in full match pak could still bat 5 sessions and save this test, it wasn't 100 percent pak loss, and it isn't last or first time that a team got some help with rain, this freaking rain cost us almost 2 certain points vs lankans last WC, so in short things get even out, England are better in England not as much as people making it look, plus in UAE or pak we all know results of last two series overall pak in last decade as the record suggest. If you still believe that's your opinion. [MENTION=144231]PakPremi[/MENTION] [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

We lost the 1st test because we aren't good enough. I seriously doubt we would have won the 2nd test. And had England had there been no rain we would have lost this test.

Our fans have problems in admitting we aren't good enough. Hearing things like we won most sessions in the first test and deserved to win is stupid. We lost the game that's all that matters.
Not many are denying we are average team. But you cannot deny Pk were the dominant team in first test and were 3 wickets away from victory but for a good partnership by Butler and Woakes. Uou cannot spectulate on second test as England top order battedjust as poorly as Paks, and consitions were such that Pak could have rolled them over for less than their totals. So overall England due ro their first test victory are deserved winner of the serious,and Pak need to go home and search for replacement for Asda S , a decent pace bowling all rounder, a good off spinner to improve.

Enough of this doom and gloom, I am more than happy with our overall performance, only that one session madness with bat one with bowl was the difference, and I do agree overall England is better team in theses conditions and Pak need changes specifically in batting to get even better, but we fave good account of ourselves and better than many expected, in third test rain did help but considering how flat the pitch, even in full match pak could still bat 5 sessions and save this test, it wasn't 100 percent pak loss, and it isn't last or first time that a team got some help with rain, this freaking rain cost us almost 2 certain points vs lankans last WC, so in short things get even out, England are better in England not as much as people making it look, plus in UAE or pak we all know results of last two series overall pak in last decade as the record suggest. If you still believe that's your opinion. [MENTION=144231]PakPremi[/MENTION] [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

if there was no rain Pak would had batted in easy conditions like England did. So hope D&G brigrade stop using rain as an excuse only against Pak

The 1.40pm inspection has happened but the pitch remains covered. We, Anderson and England could be waiting a bit longer for the final day of the Test summer to begin. Let's hope it's not a damp squib.

Most likely will get one full session.

Hope they take whatever comes their way when Jimmy is bowling. :jimmy

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The 1.40pm inspection has come and gone, with the umpires deciding there is still more to be done in drying the outfield. A further inspection will take place at 3pm local time.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ENGvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ENGvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/yTvsl6vHxm">pic.twitter.com/yTvsl6vHxm</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/1298244790656606209?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 25, 2020</a></blockquote>

I don’t know about anybody here that resides in the U.K. but I’m here in sunny Scotland and it’s absolutely pouring non stop.

No matter what you say, some people will stick to their narrative whatever may happen, they will bang on about their point of view until there blue in the face, there’s nothing wrong with criticism, but you need to see the positive in most things, otherwise you may as well shut yourselves indoors and never venture out!

LOL @ delusional people saying we deserved to win the first test. We didn't. One skill you need is to finish chances off, kill the game off. Yes we get them to 117/5 but then Shaheen and Naseem bowled really stupidly and couldn't swing it at all and we lost. That is on the team performs.

It's like saying in soccer that a teams striker missed a chance and no goal was scored, but because you had more "chances" that team should have won.

Ridiculous really. Too many tests have been lost recently due to a lack of killer finishing. And that's a major skill.

No matter what you say, some people will stick to their narrative whatever may happen, they will bang on about their point of view until there blue in the face, there’s nothing wrong with criticism, but you need to see the positive in most things, otherwise you may as well shut yourselves indoors and never venture out!

You nailed it bud.

LOL @ delusional people saying we deserved to win the first test. We didn't. One skill you need is to finish chances off, kill the game off. Yes we get them to 117/5 but then Shaheen and Naseem bowled really stupidly and couldn't swing it at all and we lost. That is on the team performs.

It's like saying in soccer that a teams striker missed a chance and no goal was scored, but because you had more "chances" that team should have won.

Ridiculous really. Too many tests have been lost recently due to a lack of killer finishing. And that's a major skill.

Nobody said we desrved or not, no one deserve anythhing but despite their is no denying pak was the better team in most of the sessions and from that position 8/10 times they would win.

Not many are denying we are average team. But you cannot deny Pk were the dominant team in first test and were 3 wickets away from victory but for a good partnership by Butler and Woakes. Uou cannot spectulate on second test as England top order battedjust as poorly as Paks, and consitions were such that Pak could have rolled them over for less than their totals. So overall England due ro their first test victory are deserved winner of the serious,and Pak need to go home and search for replacement for Asda S , a decent pace bowling all rounder, a good off spinner to improve.

There is no decent all rounder, we don't have many quality batters, and Yasir is playing because Misbah doesn't have faith in any other spinners. We are miles off being a top team.

no
There is no decent all rounder, we don't have many quality batters, and Yasir is playing because Misbah doesn't have faith in any other spinners. We are miles off being a top team.

That maybe true until you try them yoi yourself wated Rizwan tried whilst others including myself thought Sarfraz was the better test batsman.
The only reason Misbah does not trust anyone becaise him and others have not given chances to any offspinners
Some young promising batsmen would surely perform better than Asad S is performing now, given 10 consecutive test matches. No problem with Yasir he is always in wickets apart from some matches due to his fitness issues.

no

That maybe true until you try them yoi yourself wated Rizwan tried whilst others including myself thought Sarfraz was the better test batsman.
The only reason Misbah does not trust anyone becaise him and others have not given chances to any offspinners
Some young promising batsmen would surely perform better than Asad S is performing now, given 10 consecutive test matches. No problem with Yasir he is always in wickets apart from some matches due to his fitness issues.

There are probably batters better than Shafiq but they won't take us to the top of the rankings. If there was a decent all rounder he would be in the team as the team management have consistently complained about no all rounder.

Wow so Azhar did salvage a draw, well done also its weird how England has no proper drainage system? One has to think BD and Lanka have better stadiums at times.

Pakistan has been very fortunate, this could have easily ended up as 3-0. We had our moments in the series but the first test was a disaster where we failed to capitalize on a hundred plus lead in the first innings and couldn't finish the match when we had them 117/5.

We were very lucky to escape with a draw in this game.

This tour proved that Azhar Ali is just not the captain that Pakistan needs. We need someone who really wants the job and can take bold, intelligent decisions properly.

Good thing that Covid came, otherwise this series would have been a disaster for the crowds
But then again, it was scheduled in may, when there was little rain.

Wow so Azhar did salvage a draw, well done also its weird how England has no proper drainage system? One has to think BD and Lanka have better stadiums at times.

True, its surprising. Maybe its because its in Southampton which is hosting I guess 4th or 5th test match ever and not that developed as a venue. I would assume Lords, Oval and some other venues would have better drainage.

Yest but considering rain is a huge thing in England everytime one would had thought they would already have better stadiums in tier-2 venues as well..

Pakistan should have been whitewashed at least some of the players would have got sacked.

We'll be lucky to get 20 overs in forget 45.

Just want Jimmy to cross 600.

Pakistan should have been whitewashed at least some of the players would have got sacked.

Haha wait before some posters start calling us plastic fans who want our ATG players to fail
This test match has just extended career of few players
And i dont even see Asad shafiq being dropped

[MENTION=145503]Mueez[/MENTION] that's not some prediction, that's just stating the obvious.

This is the most committed I’ve see the grounds people in getting play back on, funny that!

Thank god some people on here won’t in charge of England when Anderson was struggling as a youngster, he’d of never of got to 50 wickets let alone 600!

So, looks like 50 overs min. England will find extra gear to bowl 16 overs per hour. The key is second ball - Poms will get 23-25 overs with it at least, Azhar has to stay till that phase

50 ? Even 30 will be tough with the inevitable bad light setting in.

But one thing's for sure, only team that can implode in this type of a situation will be out there batting. So...... :)

Only Desis speak like Babar's reputation at stake etc.. hero worshiping is such a thing..

For all Pakistan’s failings, there are some clear redeeming points. They have come to England without any international games unlike their opponents, they have faced the most dreadful swing conditions throughout the tour and yet come close to winning the first game, and these frequent breaks are not what they enter at home much. For an away team carrying passengers, their performance has been good.

Question is: can they finish on a high?

There is nothing to gain in this session and everything to lose.

Give it one last go with all you got and if you draw, put your feet up for a summer job well done.

If Jimmy doesn't get 600 and 40 overs are bowled then we can say Pakistan has drawn the series [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] :P

As a pakistani why should i wish Jimmy get number 600 against us? This from a lancastrian who loves jimmy

Considering we were 29-4 a draw will be a good result despite the weather if Pakistan can hold one .

They have already batted 56 overs . Will need to bat another 30 or so . Credit to azhar and abid this innings .

Does not look bright. Would not be surprised to see a draw due to bad light soon.

He’s on his last legs and I am hoping this calendar year will be his last but would be nice if AA remains unbeaten the entire test.

I fully trust Pakistan's ability to make a match out of this situation. If we get anything close to 40 overs remaining in the day, I would expect us to be 8 down at least.

We'll probably get an hour's play or a bit more. light will start deteriorating soon

Over 60 – Pakistan 105-2 (Azhar 30, Babar 8) - TRAIL BY 205

Disastrous news for Anderson – he cannot get to 600 quicker than any other player after bowling too many deliveries to topple Sri Lanka legend Muttiah Muralitharan on that front. Murali achieved the feat from 33,711 deliveries, if you are interested. Babar lights up this Anderson over with a gorgeous cover drive for three.

I don't care about runs and people's averages here, I just want Babar to bat and finish not out having faces 150 balls.

Congrats to Anderson and Eng fans, what a great bowler he has been for England.

This is why run rate was crucial yesterday, as we could have edged towards the total required to prevent a loss by an innings.

Now there is immense pressure on our middle order and tail to try and avoid an embarassing loss