Umar Akmal : Mega Discussion Thread

And one factor of luck that I should also add - Whichever series Shafiq played, Pakistan have either drawn or won it. This should be good enough for us to let him continue as well. We're also leading this series against England. Shafiq is our Kohli as far as luck factor and being a part of winning team is concerned.

Say whaaaaaaatttt

What you failed to mention is that:

Umar Akmal - 30 innings

Shafiq - 16 innings

and Shafiq already has same # of centuries and is only 2 less in half centuries when compared to Umar. Shafiq has a higher average than Umar.

Whatever chances have been given to both Shafiq and Umar, Shafiq has performed better. Stats can't lie. So give your shout about Umar a rest. Shafiq is performing well and he should be given a consistent run. Umar is good for ODI's and he should stick there for a while and wait for his chance in test.

shafiq was not down under, :moyo and the debacle that followed there :asif especially sydney test, umar akmal was the only bright thing that came out of that tour even australians were praising his batting.

and lets not forget the conditions in england in 2010 :amir

my point is umar akmal has played most of his test on adverse conditions for batting , and in a team that has been in turmoil and he was only 19 yrs old at the time and he was thrown in the deep end.

shafiq and azhar ali are around 26 yrs old, now go and comapre what inzamam , yousuf, miandad, and younis khan were doing at that time.

was it umar akmals fault in england that he was batting the new ball straight away because the top four five batsmen had been blown away :amin

so wat position do you want him to bat at. On his past failures, the excuse was he should be batting at no 3 or 4 position and no. 6 is not the right position for him.

Wow, some people are so desperate to see Umer Akmal in the team that they are willing to drop half the team for him

And that is the bottom line .... coz Stone Cold said so

steve-austin.jpg

shafiq was not down under, and the debacle that followed there especially sydney test, umar akmal was the only bright thing that came out of that tour even australians were praising his batting.

and lets not forget the conditions in england in 2010

Azhar Ali out scored and out Averaged Umar Akmal in England 2010
it was also his debut Test Series

shafiq and azhar ali are around 26 yrs old, now go and comapre what inzamam , yousuf, miandad, and younis khan were doing at that time.

Inzamam and Miandad were Legends and it is unfair to compare up and coming Batsman to them

U dont look at "Age" in Cricket

Saqlain is younger than Ajmal and his career is finished while Ajmal's has only started
same with Harbhajan

Many batsmen retire after 36 but Misbah is 38+ and in the form of his Life

was it umar akmals fault in england that he was batting the new ball straight away because the top four five batsmen had been blown away

Being a Number 6 Batsman Umar Akmal should be accustomed to facing the "Second New Ball" anyway so thats a moot point

I have found ur problem
and we have had to watch the borefest like azhar ali and shafiq struggle on placid pitches in uae and bangla against sri lanka and bangladesh with no offence intended have mickey mouse mediocre test attacks. they strike rates are barely cross 40 against sri lanka and bangladesh of all teams.

Watch T20s

now see how shafiq has been given a consistent run on flat pitches in uae, and then compare to umar akmal who has only played one test in the uae.

These are not Flat Tracks

Matches vs Sri Lanka and this Current series prove that these are Slow Turner where all teams will struggle to make Runs

I Repeat "These are NOT Flat Tracks"

Sadly we would have to loose a test for him to get a game. Also for him to be included, Shafiq or Azhar would have to suck and thats hard to see. Its OK if he doesnt play in the test but he is essential in ODIS and T20s. Not playing test will only increase his life as a cricketer.

There's no justification currently. Please try later.

Please do this simple excercise.....

List out Umar Akmals top five highest scores and summarise the circumstances those scores were scored in.

Do the same for Asad Shafiq.

Then compare these.

ALL GREAT BATSMEN had bad runs at the start of their careers.... but if they had UPSIDE POTENTIAL... they reduced their mistakes as time went on.

Just try doing the excercise....

Then take both Umar Akmal and Asad Shafiqs ten highest ODI scores and do the same. ie summarise the circumstances each of these scores were made in.

It will tell you a story.....

Please do this simple excercise.....

List out Umar Akmals top five highest scores and summarise the circumstances those scores were scored in.

Do the same for Asad Shafiq.

Then compare these.

ALL GREAT BATSMEN had bad runs at the start of their careers.... but if they had UPSIDE POTENTIAL... they reduced their mistakes as time went on.

Just try doing the excercise....

Then take both Umar Akmal and Asad Shafiqs ten highest ODI scores and do the same. ie summarise the circumstances each of these scores were made in.

It will tell you a story.....

Khan Sahib,

I understand (well some what) the first part that is comparing tests performance between these two players but comparing ODI's for selection in the test team.....

Khan Sahib,

I understand (well some what) the first part that is comparing tests performance between these two players but comparing ODI's for selection in the test team.....

How many players do you know who are excellent inODIs and crap in tests?

You can look at someone's ability in ODI cricket....

Remember inzi made his name in ODIs

Weather its Umar or Shafiq I am just glad that Pakistan actually has this problem.When was the last time we had 2 very talented batsmen fighting for the same spot in the team.This improves competitiveness in the team .I don;t have a problem with either of them playing but for right now its seems a bit unfair to drop Asad after his 50.

How many players do you know who are excellent inODIs and crap in tests?

You can look at someone's ability in ODI cricket....

Remember inzi made his name in ODIs

Ever heard of Raina, Afridi, Razzaq and the best of them all would be the Australian whose name escapes me right now but he used ti play in the 90's.

Those are ODI specialist... Ie batsmen without class.....

And even afridi and razzaq had decent test careers.

Raina is a failure so far.

Anyway don't give me a list of all rounders. Give me a list of class batsmen.

There are about 100 successful batsmen over the last so many years....

Let's see how many fall into your list.

Haha now that Asad is performing , his fanboys want him replaced with Taufeeq Umar and Azhar Ali :))

I would also like U Akmal to play but I don't see a place for him in the side unless someone gets injured or YK retires. If

i think we can leave now to kamran akmal nd his position provide the his brother if he get that than no problem if not leave the two brothers than get some one else hero or provide the chance to new youngster.

Haha now that Asad is performing , his fanboys want him replaced with Taufeeq Umar and Azhar Ali :))

Asad "fanboys" have been doing the same.

Both the sides should chill the ef out. To the UA fans, although Asad did exactly what Umar was kicked out for. He did score a half century, when the wickets were falling and prevented a major collapse.

To Asad fans, it was a 50 nothing more nothing less. Asad has been given a consistent run in this side despite mediocre performance against Sri Lanka, so now he needs to step up. His weakness against the new ball is very evident and he needs to work on that.

The Umar vs Asad debate does tend to get nasty because believe that support and dislike of both these players is because of non cricketing reasons. No matter how good Asad performs, his "haters" would always say that UA could have done a better job, scored faster etc etc. Meanwhile the majority of Asad fans I believe are supporting him because of regional bias. I'll be honest here I don't think there is any member from Karachi on this forum who doesn't say Asad > Umar. Same guys more often than not would also be supporting Sarfraz over Adnan.

Both these guys are very talented and we as Pakistanis should be happy that there is so much competition between these two. Both also need to work on their weaknesses. Umar on not throwing his wicket, and Asad working on his technique against the new ball, the short deliveries etc.

Why should it get nasty?

I really like Shafiq

He will be part of our middle order going forward.

It just a simple fact that umarakmal is better than Shafiq.

When asad can take on the new ball then we will know who our best no. 6 will be. That last innings was just akmal remix.

Asad "fanboys" have been doing the same.

Both the sides should chill the ef out. To the UA fans, although Asad did exactly what Umar was kicked out for. He did score a half century, when the wickets were falling and prevented a major collapse.

To Asad fans, it was a 50 nothing more nothing less. Asad has been given a consistent run in this side despite mediocre performance against Sri Lanka, so now he needs to step up. His weakness against the new ball is very evident and he needs to work on that.

The Umar vs Asad debate does tend to get nasty because believe that support and dislike of both these players is because of non cricketing reasons. No matter how good Asad performs, his "haters" would always say that UA could have done a better job, scored faster etc etc. Meanwhile the majority of Asad fans I believe are supporting him because of regional bias. I'll be honest here I don't think there is any member from Karachi on this forum who doesn't say Asad > Umar. Same guys more often than not would also be supporting Sarfraz over Adnan.

Both these guys are very talented and we as Pakistanis should be happy that there is so much competition between these two. Both also need to work on their weaknesses. Umar on not throwing his wicket, and Asad working on his technique against the new ball, the short deliveries etc.

My preference , at least , has nothing to with those non cricketing reasons . I would not replace UA with Azhar Ali even . UA is more suited for LOIs , at the moment . Give these 2 some time , when either Younis or Misbah leave , UA can start playing tests . UA even has time on his side , he can spend that time improving his game .

Really looking forward to seeing him in action in the ODI series....

It will be interesting to see where he bats and how he compares to the others in the side!

Time to wish this youngster beauty good luck! Hope he ends with the best batting average in this series InshaAllah! :)

I really hope :umarakmal gets to bat at 4 today!!!

He's come in early and has performed well. He needs to come in earlier, at 3 or 4 as he has time at the crease to build an innings.

He's wasted at 6 in the 'slogger' role.

Had to get a good score after getting another Akmal in the side .

Predictable .

^
Agreed wholeheartedly.

Doing well so far, Mashallah.

Hoping for the best, Afridi and Umar Akmal, excellent batting so far. So saddening that most others were quite pathetic today. This was easily a pitch to score at least 260 on.

And Samit Patel out of all the people takes the catch again :)))

Good innings though, wrong time to get out.

You saw his SR ? and he knew a 50 would keep him in the team , did not score even a run more than he needed .

You need some help. Are we really complaining about his sr when the team was down 5 for a 100? Why don't you just admit that you don't like him. He did not need the 50 to stay in the team. There are at least 3 "batsmen" who would be gone before him.

Watch him drop catches now to make place for another Actmal :kami

Umar Akmal is Batting in No 4

Finally Umar Akmal is given a chance up the order hope he does well for PAK

Hopefully he is not thrown back to six if he fails in a match or two. Need to be consistent with him at this position.

Definitely needs to be permanent in the top 4 regardless of his performance today. This is not even a question.

" Umar Akmal 's lack of intelligence brings his downfall " :raja

O teri :)))

hes out 12 runs so much for the great umar akmal better luck next time

Poor poor shot!

Positive move today but umar does an akmal!

lmao ... was never a good idea batting him up the order. He is better suited coming in at 6 or 7 where we need a slogger.

man he chance as a no 4 batsman is grasped wait again and do a good knock

Geoff Allot reckons Azhar Ali's reluctance to score contributed to his downfall..

He will do this every time. His natural style of play is to slog and that's what he does best. I wouldn't want him near the middle order because he will start the collapse every time. I will always go for sensible option in the middle order of Younis, Misbah, Asad, Azhar. Umar Akmal can keep and be a lower order slogger like afridi. Please I don't wanna see him up the order now.

Have said it so many times before, this guy is slightly better version of Afridi with no bowling talent.