ICC T20 World Cup | India vs Pakistan | Super 12, Group 2 | MCG | 23 Oct | Pakistan innings

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ilmo8z" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

A mouth-watering clash is on the cards as arch-rivals India and Pakistan lock horns in the Super 12 stage of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup at the iconic MCG in Melbourne on Sunday.

Overview

There is a lot at stake for both sides as they meet in their first game of the tournament. Considering the recent results against their neighbours, the No.1 ranked team in the MRF Tyres ICC Men's T20I team rankings, India, will be up against it at the MCG on Sunday.

India lost by 10 wickets to Pakistan in their group stage encounter in the T20 World Cup last year and that played a big part in knocking them out of the tournament early.

They met again in the Asia Cup a month back, not once but twice. Even though Rohit Sharma and his men won the first encounter, Pakistan squared things off in the second meeting. Both matches, however, went right down to the wire and lived up to the expectations of an India-Pakistan clash.

India have been in good form after their Asia Cup exit. They won the home series against Australia and South Africa, riding on the success of their batting line-up. But death bowling emerged as a major concern for them once Jasprit Bumrah got ruled out with a back injury. There was some improvement visible in the warm-up match against Australia, though.

India vs Pakistan, Key Battles

It has also been tough to find the right team balance in Ravindra Jadeja's absence but Axar Patel has solved that problem to some extent in recent games, at least with his bowling. Otherwise, the batting line-up looks pretty much settled for India but the absence of enough left-handed batters could be exploited by Pakistan.

Pakistan, on the other hand, are coming into this encounter with confidence on their side. They won a tri-series featuring New Zealand and Bangladesh recently and that served as good preparation for this mega event. Babar Azam and his men were also one of the semi-finalists in the last edition of the World Cup and they would want to go all the way this time.

The bowlers and the top order are firing on all cylinders for Pakistan. There was brief uncertainty around their ace pacer Shaheen Afridi's participation in the tournament but he is fully fit and firing as the warm-up match against Afghanistan showed.

The only concern for Pakistan, however, is their misfiring middle order. The likes of Fakhar Zaman, Khushdil Shah, Shan Masood and Iftikhar Ahmed haven't been in good form of late and they become highly unreliable whenever both Babar and Mohammad Rizwan fail to deliver. So, they need to step up to reduce Pakistan's over-dependency on Babar and Rizwan.

Fakhar Zaman is unavailable for this match as confirmed by Babar ahead of this fixture. "Shan Masood is fit. He is ready for the match tomorrow. Fakhar is not fully recovered. He will take 1 or 2 matches to recover," Babar revealed.

Predicted Playing XIs

India

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami

Pakistan

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shaheen Afridi

Key Players

Suryakumar Yadav: The middle-order batter has been in sensational batting form this year. He scored an excellent fifty in the warm-up game against Australia, which helped India to a six-run win. Suryakumar has amassed 1045 T20I runs so far, at a mind-blowing strike rate of 176.81.

Mohammad Rizwan: The wicketkeeper-batter has made it a habit of performing well against India. Rizwan has 193 T20I runs to his name against India in just three matches, at a sensational average of 96.50. Rizwan's role is going to be pretty crucial for Pakistan in this encounter as well.

ICC

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

Was looking for the thread
So Fakhar is ruled out we re down to 14 & Khushdil is a dud so it's 13 to choose, not sure about Shan also if then it's 12 avaible players

Riz
Bar
Shan
Haider
Nawaz
Iftikhar
Asif
Shadab
WaseemJr.
Rauf
Shaheen

Tbh it's not a bad lineup assuming everybody chips in specially if Nawaz and Haider Ali both perform we can have a great score add to it the fluke Asif and change of 190 possible

Pakistan should not ne under confident going into this game they have enough power if played sensibly

My prediction is the side which fields better will win this match.
Going by Pakistan warm up match against England. I would definitely say advantage India.
You can tell by Pak player's body language on field if they are winning it or not ..

Toss is not a factor here unless there is rain threat .so my india playing eleven
Rohit
Kl
Virat
Surya
Hardik
Karthik
Patel
Chahal
Bhuvi
Shami
Arshdeep
Send patel at 4&5 if Indian batsman are facing problem against Shadab and Nawaz .

My prediction is the side which fields better will win this match.
Going by Pakistan warm up match against England. I would definitely say advantage India.
You can tell by Pak player's body language on field if they are winning it or not ..

I agree fielding will be the key .

Pakistan need to be aggressive yet sensible. Bowlers will bear burden. Oh and win the toss

My prediction, India bat first, put up a par but achievable total even by our tuk tuk standards. We start with tuk tuk, rain comes and then we are looking at like 100 in 8/9 overs and then everyone back to bashing our tuk tuk openers.

Well in Melbourne time it will start around 7pm, and acc to bbc weather from 7pm-12am the highest hourly percentage of rain chance is 5%. Just cloud cover, that’s great news! I’m really looking forward to this game 😁

is it me or is there lesss hype about it, where is everybody on the eve of this match

I don’t remember the last time Pakistan fought India in front of 100K crowd, man this is going to be some atmosphere tomorrow. It’s gonna be roaring!!

'Wickets installed three weeks ago': Ahead of India vs Pakistan clash, MCG pitch curator explains conditions

The colossal Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will be packed to the rafters when India take on Pakistan in the two teams' blockbuster opening match of the 2022 T20 World Cup. While there were fears of rains possibly not allowing a full match to happen, that seems to have assuaged with more favourable forecasts coming in today.

All eyes now turn to the pitch and how it will play out over the course of the match. While he did not reveal how the pitch will play out, the MCG's pitch curator Michael Salvatore has said that the wicket will remain consistent throughout the match, which starts at 7pm local time (1.30pm IST).

"T20 wickets are usually really consistent for the whole match. So it should make for a really good game. We have brought it from our wicket nursery which is just outside the ground. It's literally 200 meters outside the ground so we can move and monitor and maintain the wickets all year around. And the wickets were installed three weeks ago," said Salvatore on A Sports.

"So we have drop-in wickets here at the MCG. So for the cricket season we bring the wickets in and I sit on some sand and bed in nicely. And then once cricket finishes, we have got the football stadium. We have the ability to take them out and put them up in our special week anniversary where we can look after and maintain them," he said.

While the chances of rain was over 90 per cent on Thursday, it has now reduced to 70 per cent. “Cloudy. High (70%) chance of showers, most likely in the late afternoon and evening. The chance of a thunderstorm in the northeast suburbs in the late afternoon and evening. Winds southerly 15 to 25 km/h tending southeasterly 20 to 30 km/h in the evening," said Australia's Bureau of Meteorology.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ator-explains-conditions-101666445386894.html

Hype is less on social media this time around, I agree. IDK why. May be because we faced each other twice last month.

I think no wants to be like what India was like in 2017 CT Final and last WC. It's better to be humble and brag afterwards than have your foot in your mouth later.

is it me or is there lesss hype about it, where is everybody on the eve of this match

No, you're right.

It's one thing when your team has continued to bully the opponent with a massive streak over decades and on the other side the other team is looking to finally end the streak.

Pakistan already achieved the latter 12 months ago and by a landslide, think about it, we bullied India only 12 months ago to finally end the streak.

The hype is no more, at least not to the level it was before then.

Don't think this Pakistani team has ever played in front of more than 50k people ever. They could be overawed by the atmosphere.

Indian players have played in Melbourne and Australian conditions in general a lot. Pakistanis haven't. Pakistan probably would need a blinder from someone to edge India otherwise I rate India as massive favourites. A washout may not be a bad result here.

No, you're right.

It's one thing when your team has continued to bully the opponent with a massive streak over decades and on the other side the other team is looking to finally end the streak.

Pakistan already achieved the latter 12 months ago and by a landslide, think about it, we bullied India only 12 months ago to finally end the streak.

The hype is no more, at least not to the level it was before then.

yeh true, or else there used to be alot more hype about this game.

I think no wants to be like what India was like in 2017 CT Final and last WC. It's better to be humble and brag afterwards than have your foot in your mouth later.

or how hassan ali bragged about taking all 10 before the match and got an epic back to back phaintas in asia cup 2018

Toss is not a factor here unless there is rain threat .so my india playing eleven
Rohit
Kl
Virat
Surya
Hardik
Karthik
Patel
Chahal
Bhuvi
Shami
Arshdeep
Send patel at 4&5 if Indian batsman are facing problem against Shadab and Nawaz .

Good point about patel at 4/5 when facing nawaz/spin, assuming you mean Akshar Patel as his LHness would be useful in our usual army of right handers.
Your top 5 look ok. i'd go for ash for yuzi, harshal for bhuvi.
However if its a rain affected or shortened overs match, i'd go for Rishabh instead of harshal and open with him and kl as would need lh in the opening and share the bowling amongst shami, hardik, arshdeep, ash and akshar.
bhuvi is cooked and shoud'nt be anywhere near a blue shirt.

The hype is definitely building up in Melbourne. Last night there was a festival at which Asim Azhar, Mustafa Zahid and Ayesha Omar hyped up the Pakistani crowd next to the stadium. Dil Dil Pakistan was the highlight of the night!

Rauf had played for a Melbourne team BBL?.

He'll be absolutely vital. I fear for the younger pacers SSA aside. Even Nawaz. Don't bowl dada Ifti!

or how hassan ali bragged about taking all 10 before the match and got an epic back to back phaintas in asia cup 2018

That guy, seriously never understood how he was so successful, I always thought he was a hack, glad he is out. But even if he did that it was probably no close to the media hype before CT final, that baap beta pota by Sehwag was on a different level altogether

Both over hyped teams placed in easy group to qualify for semis

Indian batters love pace on the ball. Pakistan having four 144 km/hr pacers will likely backfire badly against Rohit and Kohli.

Congrats Pakistan...though heart says India, its gonna be pakistan all the way. Gonna be a sad diwali :(

Babar the batsman is good but not much faith in Babar the skipper lets hope our bowlers just run through them

Congrats Pakistan...though heart says India, its gonna be pakistan all the way. Gonna be a sad diwali :(

Jinx lesson 101. India is clear favorite man due to it being in Australia plus in T20 having better batsman matter more, we have just 2 reliable batsman and even they are too slow for modern t20.

India clear favorites for today's win they will destroy Pakistan badly in this match. Pakistan's record is truly abysmal in Aus with 4 played 3 loss & 1 nr.

Coming from winning tri series in NZ i would say 55-45 pakistan no doubt india batting lineup is superior but 2 quick wickets in PP could things make very difficult for india

I agree fielding will be the key .

Boundary size is the key. And how do you smartly take advance of it, is even a bigger key.

If it's a large boundary, our bowlers stand a better chance.
But middle order must also not show too much heroics (that they are not capable of, to begin with), they must rotate and accumulate single and doubles, and look for 4's instead of sixes.

If Pak bats first and puts 165+ on the board, our bowling can potentially defend it.

If Pak bowls first, then they must reduce India to 150, and we have a chance.

And if it's a small boundary then it's 30/70 in India's favor.

What the heck man… how can this game be at 3 am.

50-50 on if it’s worth catching or not.

- every Pakistani fielder ever.

Essentially, SSA takes wickets with the new ball and others pitch in - else its 200+ to chase for us

OR we will set the 170 type target and once again pressure on SSA

Looks to me to be a tight game

For the Pakistan fans...

FfsWeUiWQAEUxL6

Hey, so I was seeing a thread on redit , theres is rain chance 10PM, match starts 7pm..so t20 is what like 4 hrs, thoda dar or confusing hain? if Pak winds toss

Bat or field if u knew there is 10PM rain, that is 3 hrs after start?

India clear favorites for today's win they will destroy Pakistan badly in this match. Pakistan's record is truly abysmal in Aus with 4 played 3 loss & 1 nr.
We have played four T20Is in Australia over a period of 14 years, and people wonder why our boys are not able to bat in Australia :))

Why gloomy grey clouds here in the thread? Hosla rakho... Only rain was going to save India and now its not raining so India ll be in big trouble once again :inzi

Let's go Pakistan, let's win this big

The fact that Fakhar is not playing is a huge dent for Pakistan.

Shan just doesn't inspire any confidence. I would love to see him proving me wrong though.

Anyways, hopefully the weather doesn't intervene. It is going to be a cracking atmosphere, the greatest rivalry in the world at the packed MCG.

It doesn't get better than that.

Essentially, SSA takes wickets with the new ball and others pitch in - else its 200+ to chase for us

OR we will set the 170 type target and once again pressure on SSA

Looks to me to be a tight game

Scoring 170 batting would be big achievement for Pak.

This match is upon us and i had been waiting for this one for long time and i want to Pakistan to win so much but today i m very happy due to Islam makhachev's win over Charles oliviera.

I m still celebrating that win.LOL.

Even if Pakistan loses this one i won't be much sad.

Is it confirmed Wasim has been picked over Naseem? Why the hell have we done this? Wasim has to really give his 10/10. Also, Shan needs to play out of his skin today. Forget about tuk tuk, it wont save your place. You are already second choice, go out and open the damn hands. Best of luck Pakistan team, watching the match at 4AM in north america. Make it worth it!

The fact that Fakhar is not playing is a huge dent for Pakistan.

Shan just doesn't inspire any confidence. I would love to see him proving me wrong though.

Anyways, hopefully the weather doesn't intervene. It is going to be a cracking atmosphere, the greatest rivalry in the world at the packed MCG.

It doesn't get better than that.

The best way is to be realistic.
They should send him to bat number 11

I have no hopes of Pak winning it. Pak has never won a T20 in Australia including practice games. This is terrible record which indicates we just can't adapt to the Australian conditions.

On the other hand, India has incredible record in Australia and have achieved something which other teams can only dream of.

So I would say it is 80:20 in favour of India as they have good record here and also has superior batting as compared to Pakistan.

That is bcoz we have already played twice this year. As I have said many times before, this rivalry only exists due to its novelty which comes from that fact that we don't play each other. Last T20 WC everyone was pumped up as we were playing after 2.5 years. Even in the recently concluded Asia cup, the 1st match was hyped up, but the 2nd game felt like just another match.

I have no hopes of Pak winning it. Pak has never won a T20 in Australia including practice games. This is terrible record which indicates we just can't adapt to the Australian conditions.

On the other hand, India has incredible record in Australia and have achieved something which other teams can only dream of.

So I would say it is 80:20 in favour of India as they have good record here and also has superior batting as compared to Pakistan.

Great. I now work somewhere with a lot of Indians. Gonna be a fun day tomorrow:(

Speaking on a TV show, Atul Wassan opined that Indian batting line-up have bigger names compared to Pakistan, given their consistent show in the format over the years. He feels that while Pakistan do have match-winners in players like Rizwan and Mohammad Nawaz, they have managed to emerge as Man of the Match in one-off matches and not on a consistent basis and hence he refrained from opining that Babar Azam-led side also have bigger players in their line-up.

“Mujhe ek deja vu wali feeling ho rahi thi. Kuch mahine phele bhi discuss kar rahe the ki Indian team main bare bare naam hai - Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul. Aur yeh bare naam isliye hai kyunki kuch saalo se innhone consistent performances diye hai. Iisliye world main bhi rating hai. Compared to Pakistan cricketers, unhone bhi kiya hai, par India team ke again st dekha jae toh utne bare, utne globally nehi hai,” he said.

“Rizwan ne ek match jitaya, Nawaz ne hi ek match jitaya, but ek match jitwane se koi bare player nehi ban jaate. Hardik ko bhi highly rate karte he kyunki woh lagatar bowling se bhi jitwaya hai, batting se bhi. Rizwan bara naam nehi lag rahe the kyunki unhone India ke khilaf matche nehi jitwaye the. Par abhi woh 3-4 bar perform kiya hai, toh unko bhi rating milna chaiye.”

Afridi, who was part of the discussion, was asked by the reporter on Virat Kohli's form, but the former captain was in complete disagreement with Wassan's remark and went back on the topic to give a fiery reply.

“Abhi jo baat kar rahe they woh samaj nehi ayi. Apne players ko sar pe charha liya. Pakistan players, jo ICC Ranking main No.1, 2 he unko bilkul ignore kardiya,” he said.

What the hell am I hearing.Wasim and Shan playing?

This is ridiculous.

I have looked up everywhere and havent found the final line up except @Men in G seems to have mistakenly excluded Naseem In the OP.

Great. I now work somewhere with a lot of Indians. Gonna be a fun day tomorrow:(

Same here, but the good part is I am travelling to my hometown tomorrow. So bit relief there !

If you guys are going to have a cry, its best to not watch it. Have faith in your team lol. We got the mental edge over them. Hopefully we carry that to Australia too!

Mohammed Wasim has been bowling brilliantly recently, Nasim has been pretty good but not as good as the Asia Cup, Haris Rauf has been brilliant, Afridi looked menacing against AFG. Shadab has been expensive

Here we go....

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/wrywxg" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shan will obviously play because of Fakhar's injury.

If Wasim is playing, it means Pakistan have shot themselves in the foot and are determined to somehow lose this game.

If you guys are going to have a cry, its best to not watch it. Have faith in your team lol. We got the mental edge over them. Hopefully we carry that to Australia too!

What difference would watching or not watching make? If we dont watch and still lose we will still have to face the music at work!

Someone who doesn't live in India will not understand this. Hope our team proves us wrong.

On what grounds naseem is not selected while wasim hr is playing ? Any fitness issue ?

Here we go....

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/wrywxg" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

MIG you gotta clarify where you got the line up from? We all are panicking seeing wasim picked over naseem?

Pakistan is a better T20 side at present and there is no shame losing against them. Indian team has players who has passed their prime years and a team in transition whereas Pakistan is a younger side with most of their players in their peak. Most importantly they have a captain who is leading from the front, and we can't say the same for Rohit Sharma. Just like Aust dropped Smith and NZ benched Guptil keeping current form in mind, India should have dropped Rohit & Virat too, but no one of course has guts to take such step

I think India will play this team and hope for the best.

Rohit
KL
Virat
Suryakumar
Pandya
DK
Axar
Ashwin
Bhuvi
Shami
Arshdeep

A very mediocre side to say the least with full of old uncles.

Here we go....

:))) the white teen in the back when Dil Dil Pakistan is being sung.

And weather looks good

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ww468u" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Sorry this is just a video from PCB - no news on line-up

Just take a dhool with you to work tomorrow and mast bajana while celebrating Pakistan's victory in front of your Indian coworkers :)

Shehzada! :akhtar

Here im awake at 4AM for the match and this guy crying.

Ready to rock babe! Let's giving India a diwali present by tanking them!:ht