Indian general election - April and May 2019 - Discussion Thread

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/lok...pilgrimage-for-m-2041088?pfrom=home-topscroll

More nautanki from 56". Abusing a man dead for 28 years is pilgrimage for him. Lying incessantly about anything and everything is pilgrimage for him. Making a terror accused fight elections was pilgrimage for him.

Pilgrimage is about washing your sins. He was forced to lower his dignity because of the low political discourse of his opponents, but glad that he atoned by making a trip to the Holy Kedarnath and will conduct himself as a statesman now that the elections are over.

What's this? :jk [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Flat surface pe aise chalne ki acting ki jaa rahi hai jaise pahaad chadd raha hai.. Baad mein camera tilt karke aisa dika bhi diya!<br><br>&#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56832; <a href="https://t.co/kZNxuSrD9j">pic.twitter.com/kZNxuSrD9j</a></p>— Kapil (@kapsology) <a href="https://twitter.com/kapsology/status/1131048965871300608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 22, 2019</a></blockquote>

BVB,

Thanks for posting this.

Truly shameful of 56" for not sparing even god's abode from his deceit and nautanki. This creature's whole life is replete with deceit and fake persona. As I always say, how such a thug still has followers (crores of them) will always remain mystery to me. I, as a devout hindu, just hate how my religion is sullied by this thug.

BVB,

Thanks for posting this.

Truly shameful of 56" for not sparing even god's abode from his deceit and nautanki. This creature's whole life is replete with deceit and fake persona. As I always say, how such a thug still has followers (crores of them) will always remain mystery to me. I, as a devout hindu, just hate how my religion is sullied by this thug.

I heard IAF friendly fire report was deliberately delayed to save Modi?

Politicians getting themselves filmed and photographed visiting mandirs, gurdwaras, mosques, churches etc was one of the worst things about this election.

Meanwhile......

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Have reliably learnt that Mayawati told a senior leader of a regional party who met her recently that she wanted to be Prime Minister. And that she will support whichever formation that backs her for the top job. Details breaking on <a href="https://twitter.com/ndtv?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ndtv</a> now.</p>— Sreenivasan Jain (@SreenivasanJain) <a href="https://twitter.com/SreenivasanJain/status/1131192992998383617?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 22, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

At least you can’t accuse Mayawati of lacking confidence lol.

In the video posted above, Chappan Inches also asked the security men to move away from camera so that he is the only in the frame. :inti
When 56" can push Zuckerberg away for daring to spoil his photo, what aukat do those security men have?

Rupee posts it’s highest gain of 2019 and the markets see their biggest rise for 3 years.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">As per exit polls, Modi's BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is projected to win anything between 339-365 seats in the 545-member Lok Sabha. <a href="https://t.co/hVStlBd0po">https://t.co/hVStlBd0po</a></p>— News18.com (@news18dotcom) <a href="https://twitter.com/news18dotcom/status/1130523582004547584?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 20, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Verdict2019WithNews18?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Verdict2019WithNews18</a> | The fate of Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a>'s bid for a second term will be decided today as the counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections starts at 8am. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ElectionsWithNews18?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ElectionsWithNews18</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/LokSabhaElections2019?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#LokSabhaElections2019</a><br><br>Follow LIVE updates here:<a href="https://t.co/5n4r8QIlqx">https://t.co/5n4r8QIlqx</a></p>— News18.com (@news18dotcom) <a href="https://twitter.com/news18dotcom/status/1131361066049400833?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 23, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Key word is, at the moment. These are early trends. Better picture will emerge in next 2 hrs.

Though as expected Bharat Jalao Party will retain power.

NDA has crossed the majority mark in the leads just in one n half hour this is just historical

BJP got 282 seats in the 2014 election..and this time around they have got even more seats. Currently, sitting at 286 seats. Single largest party.

Feel for Indian minorities :(

India election results 2019: Voters to find out if Modi returns as PM

Indians will finally find out on Thursday who won the general election after a long and bitter campaign.

Counting of ballots began at 08:00 local time (02:30GMT) after six weeks of voting ended on Sunday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, whose Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stormed to power in 2014, campaigned hard to retain his commanding majority.

He was up against the resurgent main opposition Congress party and powerful regional rivals across the country.

Exit polls have predicted a win for Mr Modi, but analysts warn they have often been wrong in the past.

This election is seen as a referendum on Mr Modi, a polarising figure adored by many but also blamed for increasing divisions in India.

A party or coalition needs at least 272 seats to secure a majority in the 543-member lower house of parliament, or Lok Sabha.

In 2014, the BJP captured 282 seats - the biggest victory by any party in 30 years. The Congress, which won just 44, suffered its worst defeat.

This year, there were 900 million voters eligible to take part in seven rounds of voting, making it the largest election the world had ever seen.

The fate of more than 8,000 candidates and some 670 political parties hangs on the ballot.

Results will be released in phases by the Election Commission - a picture of who is winning could emerge within hours, or it could take longer depending on how close the race is.

Final results are not expected until late on Thursday local time, or early Friday. Extra checks matching printed ballots against electronic voting machine results could delay the process.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-48347081

India Election Results Live: Vote Count Shows Modi Ahead

RIGHT NOWThe contents of 1.6 million electronic voting machines are being inspected, and Narendra Modi’s B.J.P. is heavily leading in the early returns.

Mail-in ballots show a big lead for Modi’s party.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, one of the most powerful and divisive leaders India has produced in decades, appeared headed for another five-year term, according to preliminary results and exit polls.

Early results based on mail-in ballots, which represent less than 1 percent of the total, showed Mr. Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party, or B.J.P., leading the opposition Congress Party by a factor of three or four to one.

According to the major exit polls released on Sunday, Mr. Modi’s brand of Hindu nationalist politics, coupled with his efforts to project a strong image of India abroad, played well among the country’s 900 million registered voters.

At least seven exit polls released by Indian news organizations on Sunday night predicted that Mr. Modi’s party, and its allies would win at least 280 of the 545 seats in the lower house of Parliament, empowering them to choose the next prime minister.

The B.J.P. and its established allies in 2014 won 336 out of the 545 seats.

If the actual results back the polls up, it will be a more dominating performance than many analysts had thought possible a few months ago, when Mr. Modi appeared to be struggling on economic issues.

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/05/22/world/asia/india-election-results.html

Feel for Indian minorities
Feel for sane Indians (non minorities) as well, count of whom is frankly at its all time low currently.

Bjp has won again it seems. Great day for Pakistan and enemies of India. Worst day for minorities. Wonder where we will find India after 5 years now.

UP result is a big shocker. Otherwise its a very predictable result.

Bjp has won again it seems. Great day for Pakistan and enemies of India. Worst day for minorities. Wonder where we will find India after 5 years now.

Don't woory in next 5 year India will get nsg membership,370 remove from Kashmir ... congratulations India

Feel for sane Indians (non minorities) as well, count of whom is frankly at its all time low currently.
Not sure what’s going to be happen to the so called sane Indians who might get heartache after this result, it’s quite a serious condition of the heart.
The miniorities will be fine like they have been.

The miniorities will be fine like they have been
Yeah, sure. No need to lie now like your master now that election has been won.

Terror accused leading, shows the depths we've fallen to under 56".

The sane Indians say nothing about what The crazy lady does in West Bengal does, Amit Shah’s helicopter wasn’t allowed to land because he was about to do a rally in one of constituencies and similar sort of atuff.
But these sane Indians say nothing about it but if one of BJP ruled states had done that to opposition, it would have been end of democracy.
The hypocrisy of sane Indians when it comes to criticizeing the parties which only play politics of minority appeasement has led to rise of BJP.

Lol.. Rahul doing a good job though. Congress won only 43 seats in last election but are up in 53 in this election. The trend is upwards &#55357;&#56834;

So will we see an India vs Pakistan LO/Test series during Modi’s second term?

The sane Indians say nothing about what The crazy lady does in West Bengal does, Amit Shah’s helicopter wasn’t allowed to land because he was about to do a rally in one of constituencies and similar sort of atuff.
But these sane Indians say nothing about it but if one of BJP ruled states had done that to opposition, it would have been end of democracy.
The hypocrisy of sane Indians when it comes to criticizeing the parties which only play politics of minority appeasement has led to rise of BJP.

All of Mamata's litte games will come to an end very soon. :asif...

Looking forward to 5 years of 7.5% to 8% growth and especially higher growth rates for the manufacturing sector. Should be a $4+ trillion economy by 2024.

BJP needs to restrain its extremists. The core of the party is committed to economic development and increasing the strength of the country rather than attacking minorities, though there are some elements in the BJP who commit crimes. Those criticizing BJP are completely silent of the fact that the greatest killings of a minority was carried out by Congress in 1984.

There should be no doubt that Modi's agenda is economic development and making India stronger. He is less likely to put up with nonsense compared to liberal leaders. Economic development and a stronger country will make the lives of everybody, both Hindus and minorities better. Looking forward to 5 more great years for the economy.

We all knew BJP would win this election, some of us were hoping against hope. But the state of the opposition lies in tatters today, Congress has to get rid of the dynasty and start from scratch even if it takes 15 more years to mount a resurgence. Meanwhile all regional parties should come together and form a third front alliance that is non-BJP, non-Congress.

BJP getting blanked out in Tamil Nadu and Kerala, not a single seat LOL. Again in Andhra they have got zero. Respect to these 3 states and Punjab.

Terrorist Sadhvi Pragya is now a member parliament. Lol well done India.

BJP got 282 seats in the 2014 election..and this time around they have got even more seats. Currently, sitting at 286 seats. Single largest party.

Feel for Indian minorities :(

The fact that the BJP has done so well only means that they have even got a considerable fraction of the minority vote.

Minority votes play a crucial role in Indian elections. It's India not Pakistan.

Terror accused leading, shows the depths we've fallen to under 56".

I am very sad because of this, I can't believe fellow Indians have voted for a terror accused and one who insulted the father of the nation. Why can't rest of India be like Punjab, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra? 2014 was understandable because of inflation and those big scams but haven't they seen the fraud of the last 5 years? Our PM is less a leader, more an actor and he lies so much. He doesn't care about morality and ethics, it is all about winning elections. Now that he has won Sushma is meeting the Pakistani foreign minister, the news of missile killing our own people is coming up, all the lies about Rajiv Gandhi are forgotten. This is a dark day for us.

I hope I never have to work outside Tamil Nadu. I do not think I can tolerate the political opinions, fascism and bigotry in North India or Maharashtra, Gujarat, even Karnataka is a gone case. I will live and die in Tamil Nadu, the more I see this kind of bigotry in Indian politics (eg. Pragya winning) the more I am thankful for the Dravidian movement. I have always been an AIADMK supporter but right now I am glad DMK is sweeping the state. You can't shake hands with the devil and expect support in this land, no matter what the reason may be. I also don't want Congress in my state, Kamaraj passed away 45 years ago. Tamil Nadu must be ruled only by Dravidian parties. This is the land of Periyar, Kamaraj and Anna, not of Nehru, Gandhis and Sanghis.

I am very sad because of this, I can't believe fellow Indians have voted for a terror accused and one who insulted the father of the nation. Why can't rest of India be like Punjab, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra? 2014 was understandable because of inflation and those big scams but haven't they seen the fraud of the last 5 years? Our PM is less a leader, more an actor and he lies so much. He doesn't care about morality and ethics, it is all about winning elections. Now that he has won Sushma is meeting the Pakistani foreign minister, the news of missile killing our own people is coming up, all the lies about Rajiv Gandhi are forgotten. This is a dark day for us.

I must say you think very highly of your countrymen. This is what India always has been. Its just that they didnt have an alternative to congress. Now that RSS has given them a mainstream party and made them see how it will protect hindus against invaders, they can vote for exactly what they want (and deserve).

BJP increases their vote share by 10% :))) coolstorybro

Anyway, despite Shah's 110/100 type of answer sheets, seems like BJP and friends would still have crossed the mark. A good lesson to me about over-estimating the intelligence of my beloved countrymen.

His lead crossed 3 lakh in wayand, looks like minorities in kerala voted for Rahul and congress in big numbers thinking that he will be the next PM lol

With a lead of 3 lakh, reckon those who voted for him can't be regarded as minorities any longer :)

I marvel at the foresight of Mr. Jinnah. I really do. He looked through the facade of secularism and patriotism and reached the heart of the problem. We have to be extremely fortunate in order to see another great leader like him.

I must say you think very highly of your countrymen. This is what India always has been. Its just that they didnt have an alternative to congress. Now that RSS has given them a mainstream party and made them see how it will protect hindus against invaders, they can vote for exactly what they want (and deserve).

I beg to disagree, India was very different post independence, large parts of India rejected Hindutva politics for a long time. Even during the 90s BJP struggled in most elections. The weakening of Congress because of dynasty politics has played a big role in strengthening BJP.

If you think India has always been like this explain the politics in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, even the Telugu states. Bengal is still under Mamata. Do you know BJP has never won a Lok Sabha seat in Kerala, never won an assembly seat in Tamil Nadu? Failure of Congress has helped BJP. In places where there is strong regional party what inroads have RSS/BJP made?

Anyway, despite Shah's 110/100 type of answer sheets, seems like BJP and friends would still have crossed the mark. A good lesson to me about over-estimating the intelligence of my beloved countrymen.

With a lead of 3 lakh, reckon those who voted for him can't be regarded as minorities any longer :)

Majority of the voters belongs to minority communities there, I'm not specifically pointing out a constituency, in whole kerala minorities voted for Congress in huge numbers

Looking forward to 5 years of 7.5% to 8% growth and especially higher growth rates for the manufacturing sector. Should be a $4+ trillion economy by 2024.

BJP needs to restrain its extremists. The core of the party is committed to economic development and increasing the strength of the country rather than attacking minorities, though there are some elements in the BJP who commit crimes. Those criticizing BJP are completely silent of the fact that the greatest killings of a minority was carried out by Congress in 1984.

There should be no doubt that Modi's agenda is economic development and making India stronger. He is less likely to put up with nonsense compared to liberal leaders. Economic development and a stronger country will make the lives of everybody, both Hindus and minorities better. Looking forward to 5 more great years for the economy.
lol, are you for real? 56" and that too for development?

Sanctimonious People from Kerala and Tamil Nadu making a big brouhaha about BJP not winning a seat there. They should wake up and smell the coffee. There is a reason why you guys have been unable to produce a pan India leader.

We all knew BJP would win this election, some of us were hoping against hope. But the state of the opposition lies in tatters today, Congress has to get rid of the dynasty and start from scratch even if it takes 15 more years to mount a resurgence. Meanwhile all regional parties should come together and form a third front alliance that is non-BJP, non-Congress.

BJP getting blanked out in Tamil Nadu and Kerala, not a single seat LOL. Again in Andhra they have got zero. Respect to these 3 states and Punjab.
Agree with this. In Southern states, K'taka and Telangana seem to have most gullible people.

I marvel at the foresight of Mr. Jinnah. I really do. He looked through the facade of secularism and patriotism and reached the heart of the problem. We have to be extremely fortunate in order to see another great leader like him.

Mr Jinnah's theory failed on 2 fronts:

1. Bangladesh liberation from Pakistan.
2. Muslims in Kerala, TN, AP integrating with the mainstream and being well off in terms of education, health, employment, security. If you ever meet a Muslim from those places ask them whether they regret the decision of their forefathers to stay back in India. You know how racist the Pakistani officers were towards the East Pakistanis, even making fun of their food habits and language. Do you think a dark skinned Tamil speaking Muslim would have fit in Pakistan? I have seen them avoiding even North Indian Muslims, they always prefer to hang out with fellow Tamils.

This.

BTW, why let facts get in the way of good story for ******?

The fact that the BJP has done so well only means that they have even got a considerable fraction of the minority vote.
lol, keep on fooling yourself with that notion. Its just that hindu vote has consolidated in favour of 56".

No need to be sad about 56" getting reelected as a nation gets the netas it deserves. We deserve these lying communal bigots for next 5 years or may be even more.

Terrorist Sadhvi Pragya is now a member parliament. Lol well done India.
Yeah, well done indeed. However she is still a small problem though. Bigger challenges await us now that bigot has got almost similar mandate as last time.

Mr Jinnah's theory failed on 2 fronts:

1. Bangladesh liberation from Pakistan.
2. Muslims in Kerala, TN, AP integrating with the mainstream and being well off in terms of education, health, employment, security. If you ever meet a Muslim from those places ask them whether they regret the decision of their forefathers to stay back in India. You know how racist the Pakistani officers were towards the East Pakistanis, even making fun of their food habits and language. Do you think a dark skinned Tamil speaking Muslim would have fit in Pakistan? I have seen them avoiding even North Indian Muslims, they always prefer to hang out with fellow Tamils.

He and elite Muslims of North India betrayed poor muslims

Agree with this. In Southern states, K'taka and Telangana seem to have most gullible people.

Karnataka has always been a Sangh laboratory. Being border state with Maharashtra and proximity to Nagpur helps RSS/BJP spread its wings. Communal incidents in coastal areas are very common and honestly some places like Bhatkal, Mangaluru, Dharwad and Mysuru have their share of RW Muslim politics which polarizes the society further. Same things is happening in Kerala where IUML, PFI are playing to fears of Hindus and BJP voteshare is increasing, still not enough to win seats. This is where Tamil Nadu with Dravidian parties is way better.

Telangana is a surprise, maybe polarization at play? Parties like AIMIM will only help BJP in the long run by removing moderate voices both sides. They and BJP will always benefit each other. Not a reason for alarm yet, because in state assembly BJP is a non entity.

Majority of the voters belongs to minority communities there, I'm not specifically pointing out a constituency, in whole kerala minorities voted for Congress in huge numbers

lol what are you on about.

According to 2011 Census of India figures, 54.73% of Kerala's population are Hindus, 26.56% are Muslims, 18.38% are Christians, and the remaining 0.32% follows other religions or no religion.

Religions in Wayanad District
Hindus: 49.48%
Muslims: 28.65%
Christian: 21.34%
Others: 0.53%

Wayanad constituency is different from district.WC includes the places from neighbouring districts which are minority dominated.

Wah Modiji wah wah.

Hindus nearly double the next religion and this logic....

Just accept that there are still parts of India remaining that have rejected the BJP.

Wah Modiji wah wah.

Just accept that there are still parts of India remaining that have rejected the BJP.

That's good for you, but hey at the end of the day BJP won and majority are happy....

Wah Modiji wah wah.

You should check the demographics of WC not WD and come back