Indian general election - April and May 2019 - Discussion Thread

Ravindra Jadeja's father, sister join Congress after wife joins BJP

A month after Ravindra Jadeja's wife joined the BJP, the cricketer's father and sister joined the Congress in Gujarat on Sunday in the presence of party leader and Patidar quota spearhead Hardik Patel.

Jadeja's father, Anirudhsinh, and sister, Nainaba, joined the Congress at an election rally in Kalavad city of Jamnagar district. Jadeja hails from Jamnagar and the Congress candidate for Jamnagar Lok Sabha seat, Mulu Kandoriya, was also present.

The Chennai Super Kings all-rounder's wife, Rivaba, had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on March 3 in Jamnagar in the presence sitting MP Poonamben Maadam, who was renominated by the saffron party.

Hardik Patel was expected to be fielded by the Congress from Jamnagar, but the Patidar leader's chances were scuttled after the Supreme Court had on April 2 rejected the plea to stay his conviction in a case in which he was sentenced to two years in jail.

Polls to all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in the state will be held in the third phase of the general election on April 23.

https://www.business-standard.com/a...s-father-sister-join-cong-119041400303_1.html

Man is a legend, he has people from both sides.

Save your energy, Rahul little baby in diapers is not going to be the PM of India..

Maybe in about 40 years from now he will be ready I feel, his maturity would definitely be at a level of a 50 year old by then.... :inti

LOL People still think foreigner look alike, left leaning, liberal, people pleaser has a chance to rule India LMAOOO. There is a high chance an South Indian will become the PM of India before this biracial man becomes the PM of India lol.

What a joker this Goyal guy is, though BJP is so full of these guys.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/lok...ntest-next-elections-from-neighbourin-2026205

Someone who himself hasn't yet dared to contest a single election in his political life is commenting on someone who has won all elections he contested? And by neighboring country does he mean Pakistan as his master has already termed Waynad as full of muslims?

And did I mention that this guy himself is a dynast, son of ex BJP treasurer V P Goyal?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be among tens of millions of people to cast ballots as India holds a 'Super Tuesday' of voting in its marathon election <a href="https://t.co/6tr7f2Ir3f">https://t.co/6tr7f2Ir3f</a></p>— AFP news agency (@AFP) <a href="https://twitter.com/AFP/status/1120437369323147264?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 22, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

how about this...

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/lVaHR9KCicA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be among tens of millions of people to cast ballots as India holds a 'Super Tuesday' of voting in its marathon election <a href="https://t.co/6tr7f2Ir3f">https://t.co/6tr7f2Ir3f</a></p>— AFP news agency (@AFP) <a href="https://twitter.com/AFP/status/1120437369323147264?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 22, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
What a megalomaniac!

Sunny Deol has joined BJP and is likely to be its candidate from Gurdaspur.

how about this...

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/lVaHR9KCicA" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Video has the DNA of Ammayi Sonya all over it. Well Done Congress on making it, however it was a little too easy give away :))

[MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION], who have you or who will you vote for?

Genuine question, do you not think the current government have done any good things during the last 5 years?

Even the opposition have voted for many BJP bills so there’s clearly been some consensus across the political divide.

Ranting and raving about Modi and his government at every opportunity is a bit silly if there is no balance. Governments do good things and they do bad things and at the end of each term one will probably outweigh the other.

Ugliest phase of Indian politics going on right now. Pathetic communal statements and politicians stooping to gutter level to garner votes.

Whoever wins, its shameful that these people will be ruling India for the next 5 yrs.

Genuine question, do you not think the current government have done any good things during the last 5 years?

Even the opposition have voted for many BJP bills so there’s clearly been some consensus across the political divide.

Ranting and raving about Modi and his government at every opportunity is a bit silly if there is no balance. Governments do good things and they do bad things and at the end of each term one will probably outweigh the other.

He's trying to balance out the joshila types on here, we actually need more of him to balance it out

Governments do good things, what good has Modi done in his last 5 years? If sending India back by at least 5 decades during his 5 years tenure is doing good in your books, I don’t want to engage with you.

Opposition has voted for government bills because unlike Modi they are not petty. Modi opposed FDI in retail and GST vehemently and guess what, he wholeheartedly adopted them once in power, just to take credit. That’s what his real face is. Always thinking of ways to win next election,not bothering about governing.

As for being corrupt, he is even more corrupt than Lalu. Who else do you think is funding his ultra expensive election campaigns? And did I mention, demonetization being biggest ever scam!

People who live outside India have absolutely no idea how savagely these creatures have hit the very foundation of India.

You know what is silly? Silly is to ask someone who’ll he/she vote for as last time I checked India has secret ballot system.

Now that you have asked me, let me tell you I’ll vote for ANYONE but Narendra Feku Modi and Amit Tadipar Shah.

Governments do good things, what good has Modi done in his last 5 years?

Modi has done very little in the last 5 years - putting aside the failed demonetization, failed incursion into Pakistan, and of course rampant unemployment - Modi is still riding on the coat-tails of the previous Congress government!

All said and done, knowing the gullibility quotient of his supporters and the current environment of fake nationalism, Feku is set for another 5 years term, so you can bet your bottom dollar that India is set to go down to even deeper depths.

Ugliest phase of Indian politics going on right now. Pathetic communal statements and politicians stooping to gutter level to garner votes.

Whoever wins, its shameful that these people will be ruling India for the next 5 yrs.

Exactly. On one hand we have BJP and on the other hand we have Pappu Party. :inti

People who live outside India have absolutely no idea how savagely these creatures have hit the very foundation of India.
And some of them have never voted for any party in India. Their opinion and choices means nothing and shouldn't be taken seriously by Indians living in India. :kohli

Modi uses blasts in Sri Lanka to ask for votes for BJP

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was addressing a poll rally in Chittorgarh, Rajasthan on Sunday when he urged voters, in the name of the recent Sri Lanka terror attacks, to vote for the BJP.

After he spoke at length about achievements of his government’s schemes and the failures of the Congress, Modi went on to condemn the eight bomb blasts that rocked Sri Lanka and took over 290 lives and left hundreds more injured on Sunday, on the festival of Easter.

“My condolences to people who have lost loved ones who were in prayer on this holy festival,” he said, before making a case for his party to eradicate terror. “When you all go to vote and press the button next to the lotus, bear in mind that you are pressing the button to destroy terrorism. There is power in your vote. When you vote for the lotus, I will get the strength to fight against terror.”

He prefaced the poll plea by saying that hundreds of innocents had died as they prayed. “These blasts happened in churches, hotels. World over, the holy festival of Easter is being celebrated, remembering Jesus Christ’s message of peace. Innocent people were praying in churches for Easter when these terrorists killed hundreds of children, sisters, mothers and brothers. How terrible terrorism is – every day, in some place in the world, the earth bathed in blood. Today, whatever is happening in Sri Lanka… India is standing with the country. In this difficult time, India is ready to do whatever it can to help Sri Lanka,” he said.

Earlier in his speech, Modi also asked if the people wanted a "mazboot sarkar" (strong government) or "majboor sarkar" (resigned government); if they wanted an India which can give a befitting reply to Pakistan or an India which sits quiet; if they wanted a government which can make the country stronger or keep it weak.

The Prime Minister also asked new voters to press BJP's symbol ‘lotus’ to build a new India, mentioning the NDA's drive against poverty, illiteracy, black money, corruption, and disease.

Listing flagship schemes like the PM Ujjawala Yojana, the Saubhagya Yojana, the Jan-Dhan scheme, the Mudra Yojana, and the toilet construction scheme, Modi said, "We started many ambitious projects and ensured they reached their end point, unlike the former government which did not know how to finish projects successfully."

Attacking the Congress, he said that had it been honest, it could have done much but only did "vote bank politics" and continued to lie to people and cheat them. He then asked if farmers' loans have been waived in 10 days, as promised by the Congress government. "This is the lie (that the farmer loans have been waived) being spread all across Rajasthan," he added.

"Since the last seven decades, they have been lying to people. They have just three facts to their credit - they stand for a 'Namdaar' family (dynasty), bhrashtaachaar (corruption) and jhoote waadon ki bharmaar (slew of false promises)," he said.

Modi promised that his next government, if voted back, will set up a 'Jal Shakti Mantralaya' to work for smooth supply of water in areas with scanty supply.

"In next five years, we will work on water, Jal Shakti ministry will be coming up which will ensure that rainwater reaches dry areas via new techniques," he said.

He also accused Congress of sharing water, meant for Indians, with Pakistan. "Congress took your vote but your water was being sent to Pakistan. You were thirsty but Congress was worried about quenching Pakistan's thirst," he said. "Now, BJP has started a new dam project on water flowing towards Pakistan and with this dam, you shall have water of your share," he added.

Polling for the Lok Sabha elections is underway in India, with the fourth phase happening on Tuesday. Rajasthan, where Modi’s rally was held, will vote in two phases on April 29 and May 6.

https://www.thenewsminute.com/artic...-created-daily-indian-cyber-specialist-100572

Modi uses blasts in Sri Lanka to ask for votes for BJP

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was addressing a poll rally in Chittorgarh, Rajasthan on Sunday when he urged voters, in the name of the recent Sri Lanka terror attacks, to vote for the BJP.

After he spoke at length about achievements of his government’s schemes and the failures of the Congress, Modi went on to condemn the eight bomb blasts that rocked Sri Lanka and took over 290 lives and left hundreds more injured on Sunday, on the festival of Easter.

“My condolences to people who have lost loved ones who were in prayer on this holy festival,” he said, before making a case for his party to eradicate terror. “When you all go to vote and press the button next to the lotus, bear in mind that you are pressing the button to destroy terrorism. There is power in your vote. When you vote for the lotus, I will get the strength to fight against terror.”

He prefaced the poll plea by saying that hundreds of innocents had died as they prayed. “These blasts happened in churches, hotels. World over, the holy festival of Easter is being celebrated, remembering Jesus Christ’s message of peace. Innocent people were praying in churches for Easter when these terrorists killed hundreds of children, sisters, mothers and brothers. How terrible terrorism is – every day, in some place in the world, the earth bathed in blood. Today, whatever is happening in Sri Lanka… India is standing with the country. In this difficult time, India is ready to do whatever it can to help Sri Lanka,” he said.

Earlier in his speech, Modi also asked if the people wanted a "mazboot sarkar" (strong government) or "majboor sarkar" (resigned government); if they wanted an India which can give a befitting reply to Pakistan or an India which sits quiet; if they wanted a government which can make the country stronger or keep it weak.

The Prime Minister also asked new voters to press BJP's symbol ‘lotus’ to build a new India, mentioning the NDA's drive against poverty, illiteracy, black money, corruption, and disease.

Listing flagship schemes like the PM Ujjawala Yojana, the Saubhagya Yojana, the Jan-Dhan scheme, the Mudra Yojana, and the toilet construction scheme, Modi said, "We started many ambitious projects and ensured they reached their end point, unlike the former government which did not know how to finish projects successfully."

Attacking the Congress, he said that had it been honest, it could have done much but only did "vote bank politics" and continued to lie to people and cheat them. He then asked if farmers' loans have been waived in 10 days, as promised by the Congress government. "This is the lie (that the farmer loans have been waived) being spread all across Rajasthan," he added.

"Since the last seven decades, they have been lying to people. They have just three facts to their credit - they stand for a 'Namdaar' family (dynasty), bhrashtaachaar (corruption) and jhoote waadon ki bharmaar (slew of false promises)," he said.

Modi promised that his next government, if voted back, will set up a 'Jal Shakti Mantralaya' to work for smooth supply of water in areas with scanty supply.

"In next five years, we will work on water, Jal Shakti ministry will be coming up which will ensure that rainwater reaches dry areas via new techniques," he said.

He also accused Congress of sharing water, meant for Indians, with Pakistan. "Congress took your vote but your water was being sent to Pakistan. You were thirsty but Congress was worried about quenching Pakistan's thirst," he said. "Now, BJP has started a new dam project on water flowing towards Pakistan and with this dam, you shall have water of your share," he added.

Polling for the Lok Sabha elections is underway in India, with the fourth phase happening on Tuesday. Rajasthan, where Modi’s rally was held, will vote in two phases on April 29 and May 6.

https://www.thenewsminute.com/artic...-created-daily-indian-cyber-specialist-100572
What a lowlife this creature is? Well if he could use his own frail and nonagenarian mother for canvassing, SLans are still foreigners.

And some of them have never voted for any party in India. Their opinion and choices means nothing and shouldn't be taken seriously by Indians living in India. :kohli
Agree. Its easy to say sitting outside India that this government has done well. Done well? You don't know a thing about anything related to India of last 5 years.

Modi has done very little in the last 5 years - putting aside the failed demonetization, failed incursion into Pakistan, and of course rampant unemployment - Modi is still riding on the coat-tails of the previous Congress government!
That very little includes,

1) Crony capitalism,
2) Cow terrorism,
3) Farmers' disastrous state,
4) Corruption in every nook and corner, letting corrupts off the hook
5) Capturing generally independent media,
6) Weakening of institutions of eminence,
7) Propagating of hate against different sects, encouraging militant Hinduism,
8) Disastrous handing of Kashmir,
9) India's foreign relations being at their lowest ebb,
10) Highest ever petrol prices despite record low prices in international market,
11) Mercilessly destroying Indian exchequer,
12) Fudging whatever it could,
13) Politicizing armed forces and Indian scientific community,
14) where is the black money they promised to bring back,

list is endless.....

Apparently, in Modi's own words Obama asks Modi a question every time he meets him. Guess what could that be?

My bet would be, how did you manage to be PM of world's largest democracy despite being as good as illiterate, knowing nothing about governance, have zero knowledge of facts, etc?

West Bengal SHOCKER! Hindus stopped from casting vote in Muslim-dominated village; voter IDs snatched

https://mobile.twitter.com/TimesNow/status/1118837163125121024

Horrific stuff going on in Mamta's Bengal where Hindus are being treated as 2nd class citizens. My relatives (who lives in Bengal) are scared to go to polling booth.

Not a single sold out lutyens media will cover this news or what is happening in Bengal.

Where and when did he confirm that he received 15 lakhs in his account which was the original question? Instead he looked like a brainwashed clown, just like Modi. Thanks for posting this link, shows how intellectually bankrupt kacha dharis have become. And bigger lol at that India Today news anchor.

BTW, beizzati was when Modi ran away from Karan Thapar's interview!

And the guy is being felicitated by BJP for this 'act'. lol, desperate much?

You know what is silly? Silly is to ask someone who’ll he/she vote for as last time I checked India has secret ballot system.

Now that you have asked me, let me tell you I’ll vote for ANYONE but Narendra Feku Modi and Amit Tadipar Shah.

Not really.

You clearly have strong opinions and a passion for the discussion at hand. It’s only natural then that you’ll be asked who you support/voted for/will vote for.

Sure India, like so many other nations, have a secret ballot system however they still have exit opinion polls and those who are happy to disclose who they voted for do so.

But that’s okay it’s only natural for some people to be coy or even a bit embarrassed about who they voted for given the quality of politicians and political parties across the board.

Last time I voted for the communist party candidate, but he lost due to Modi wave, and this time I am not going to vote. Have lot of money riding on a Modi ally, and hoping and praying that BJP comes to power and the ally wins. May be bad for the country, but will be the greatest event in my life.

Any reason why you aren’t voting for the Communist candidate again?

I assume you live in a different constituency from your BJP friend therefore cannot support him directly?

Any reason why you aren’t voting for the Communist candidate again?

I assume you live in a different constituency from your BJP friend therefore cannot support him directly?

Although the communist candidate is the better one, the fight is now between an ex bollywood singer and a bengali actress of yesteryears. the reason i am not voting is simple, just don't feel strongly about voting.

It is actually a candidate from Nitish Kumar's party who is back as a BJP ally. All my savings have been given for the election campaign but the problem is some BJP local workers are trying to sabotage the elections because they don't like Nitish Kumar's candidate despite being an ally.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Mitro, here is the video.<br><br>Obama Modi aapas me tu kar ke bat karte hai &#55358;&#56611;&#55358;&#56611;&#55357;&#56834; <a href="https://t.co/FJrQHQCwVL">pic.twitter.com/FJrQHQCwVL</a></p>— Gajendra Sharma (@Airavta) <a href="https://twitter.com/Airavta/status/1120972763852722178?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 24, 2019</a></blockquote>

Lol. Such a failed attempt by the tweeter guy.

Modi said about Obama " Humlog acche dost hai, wo Tu Tari kehke bulate hai" Anyone who knows hindi or even urdu knows that it means the convo is very informal.

Shri Rockstar Narendra Modi Ji is looking desperate. Should have chosen Shakti Kapoor to take his interview instead. :inti

Wonderful satire by Ravish Kumar and sanghi ganwar's like to pretend that they are not as sycophantic as the Congressi's.

Sycophancy towards Modi ji is because of his patriotism and impeccable record, but congressi sycophancy is because of the fake ghandi surname only. At least know the difference.

Brilliant, absolutely brilliant from Ravish, yet again….

I used to hold Prasoon Joshi in high esteem, such a great poet, but he is such a sellout to kacha dharis.

Same is true for Akshay! Such a sycophant!

As for Modi, same old I, me, myself, self-centered megalomaniac despot!

Pakistan PM Imran Khan A "Friend": Trinamool Congress MP Moon Moon Sen

ASANSOL: Expressing disgust over the issue of nationalism and Pakistan being played up in election campaign, yesteryear actress and Trinamool Congress candidate from Asansol, Moon Moon Sen, said if needed, she would again talk to her old "friend" Imran Khan, the Pakistan prime minister.
Ms Sen, however, declined to speak to Mr Khan on bilateral issues, saying with "several astute politicians" in the country, she would never be given the responsibility.

She praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi for boosting India's image abroad but regretted that while doing so, he had forgotten the issues plaguing his own country, especially unemployment.

"Imran is a friend of mine. We are not involved in any way. But the kind of divisive politics that is going on (over nationalism with reference to Pakistan) is very dangerous," Ms Sen told PTI in an interview.

Asked if she needed, will she again talk to him given the atmosphere of animosity between the two nations, she said, "Why not? After all, he is a friend."

During the late 80s and 90s, when Mr Khan was a cricketing hero leading the Pakistan team, Ms Sen was considered to be his good friend, and their friendship was a regular fodder for newspapers, gossip magazines and tabloids.

Asked if she would act as an emissary if the government asks her to be, the daughter of legendary Bengali film actress Suchitra Sen said she would never be assigned such a job.

"No, I would never go on my own to talk to him and I am sure I would never be asked to do so. There are several astute politicians. Mamata Banerjee is a very astute politician and she would never exploit my friendship with Imran. He has a lot of friends in Kolkata, my husband is also his friend, I am not the only person," Ms Sen said, adding that she had last met Mr Khan several years ago when he was in the city for an India-Pakistan cricket match.

Asked to comment on Mr Khan's statement that he believed there was a better chance of peace talks with India and settling the Kashmir issue if the BJP wins the general election, Ms Sen declined to comment.

"I won''t make a comment on this. It''s just a pure political talk and they are changing statements every next day," she said.

Speaking on Prime Minister Modi, Ms Sen credited him for boosting the image of the country abroad.

"As a parliamentarian, I think he has not been very regular. I have not seen him much.

"Maybe he had other important things to do. I have heard his two or three speeches in Parliament but they were more or less like campaign speeches. I think he, as PM, has given us a good image abroad but he had forgotten the issues in his own country," she said.

The actress-turned-lawmaker credited PM Modi for endearing himself to Indians living abroad, after Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi, but criticised him for a hasty implementation of the Goods and Services Tax and his failure to create enough jobs.

Where are the jobs? So many educated youths are still unemployed in the country, what about the promise to create jobs?" she said.

Known to be a giant slayer after defeating nine-time CPI(M) MP Basudeb Acharia in 2014 from Bankura Lok Sabha seat - a Left stronghold, Ms Sen feels the last five years as an MP have been a great learning experience.

"I had made a special relationship with the people of Bankura. Even if I am not contesting from there, people from Bankura have called me and wished me luck," she said.

Ms Sen, an actor with extraordinary oomph in her heydays, declined to attach much importance to her main opponent in Asansol - Union minister and sitting MP Babul Supriyo - and termed him a "kid".

"He is just a kid. I think in Asansol the fight is between Modi and Mamata Banerjee and I am confident about my victory," she said.

Referring to her shift from Bankura Lok Sabha constituency, she said she was surprised when she came to know she will be contesting from Asansol.

"I had no idea. Mamata had asked me whether I am interested in contesting again. I said ''yes''. Then, when the candidate list was announced, I was in Mumbai, my husband told me that I have been nominated from Asansol, I was surprised," she said.

Asked about reports that TMC leaders in Bankura felt Moon Moon Sen, since her win in Bankura in 2014, didn't do much in the constituency and she was hardly visible as an MP, Ms Sen said she is not interested in answering such allegations.

"Look I stay in Kolkata, but whenever I have been asked I had gone. I had also utilized MPLAD funds. But if still some people think I have done nothing then it is up to them," she said.

She also refuted allegations that film stars don't make good public representatives and cited examples of several actor-turned-politicians who have been very successful.

Asked about her plans for Asansol, the 65-year-old said she would focus on tackling the menace of pollution in the industrial town and financial empowerment of women in the area.

Replying to the query, whether she would let her daughters Riya Sen and Raima Sen, who too are well-known actors, join politics in future, she said it''s up to them to decide.

The election in Asansol is scheduled to be held on April 29.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pak...d-trinamool-congress-mp-moon-moon-sen-2028563

Just saw a video of Shehla Rashid, a Kashmiri Muslim activist campaigning for the Communist Party candidate Kanhaiya Kumar and asking Muslims of Bihar to not vote on the basis of religion for the Muslim candidate from Begusarai.

Amidst all the negativity of the last few years, things like this makes me remember the rare things India holds, which very few other countries can claim.

What is with the name calling? It doesnot make your arguments better.

BJP can't complain about namecalling when they started the whole pappu thing. Also the anchor's trolling modi there but he definitely isn't doing any name calling, he is just showing how much of a fake person modi is.

Pakistan PM Imran Khan A "Friend": Trinamool Congress MP Moon Moon Sen

ASANSOL: Expressing disgust over the issue of nationalism and Pakistan being played up in election campaign, yesteryear actress and Trinamool Congress candidate from Asansol, Moon Moon Sen, said if needed, she would again talk to her old "friend" Imran Khan, the Pakistan prime minister.
Ms Sen, however, declined to speak to Mr Khan on bilateral issues, saying with "several astute politicians" in the country, she would never be given the responsibility.

She praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi for boosting India's image abroad but regretted that while doing so, he had forgotten the issues plaguing his own country, especially unemployment.

"Imran is a friend of mine. We are not involved in any way. But the kind of divisive politics that is going on (over nationalism with reference to Pakistan) is very dangerous," Ms Sen told PTI in an interview.

Asked if she needed, will she again talk to him given the atmosphere of animosity between the two nations, she said, "Why not? After all, he is a friend."

During the late 80s and 90s, when Mr Khan was a cricketing hero leading the Pakistan team, Ms Sen was considered to be his good friend, and their friendship was a regular fodder for newspapers, gossip magazines and tabloids.

Asked if she would act as an emissary if the government asks her to be, the daughter of legendary Bengali film actress Suchitra Sen said she would never be assigned such a job.

"No, I would never go on my own to talk to him and I am sure I would never be asked to do so. There are several astute politicians. Mamata Banerjee is a very astute politician and she would never exploit my friendship with Imran. He has a lot of friends in Kolkata, my husband is also his friend, I am not the only person," Ms Sen said, adding that she had last met Mr Khan several years ago when he was in the city for an India-Pakistan cricket match.

Asked to comment on Mr Khan's statement that he believed there was a better chance of peace talks with India and settling the Kashmir issue if the BJP wins the general election, Ms Sen declined to comment.

"I won''t make a comment on this. It''s just a pure political talk and they are changing statements every next day," she said.

Speaking on Prime Minister Modi, Ms Sen credited him for boosting the image of the country abroad.

"As a parliamentarian, I think he has not been very regular. I have not seen him much.

"Maybe he had other important things to do. I have heard his two or three speeches in Parliament but they were more or less like campaign speeches. I think he, as PM, has given us a good image abroad but he had forgotten the issues in his own country," she said.

The actress-turned-lawmaker credited PM Modi for endearing himself to Indians living abroad, after Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi, but criticised him for a hasty implementation of the Goods and Services Tax and his failure to create enough jobs.

Where are the jobs? So many educated youths are still unemployed in the country, what about the promise to create jobs?" she said.

Known to be a giant slayer after defeating nine-time CPI(M) MP Basudeb Acharia in 2014 from Bankura Lok Sabha seat - a Left stronghold, Ms Sen feels the last five years as an MP have been a great learning experience.

"I had made a special relationship with the people of Bankura. Even if I am not contesting from there, people from Bankura have called me and wished me luck," she said.

Ms Sen, an actor with extraordinary oomph in her heydays, declined to attach much importance to her main opponent in Asansol - Union minister and sitting MP Babul Supriyo - and termed him a "kid".

"He is just a kid. I think in Asansol the fight is between Modi and Mamata Banerjee and I am confident about my victory," she said.

Referring to her shift from Bankura Lok Sabha constituency, she said she was surprised when she came to know she will be contesting from Asansol.

"I had no idea. Mamata had asked me whether I am interested in contesting again. I said ''yes''. Then, when the candidate list was announced, I was in Mumbai, my husband told me that I have been nominated from Asansol, I was surprised," she said.

Asked about reports that TMC leaders in Bankura felt Moon Moon Sen, since her win in Bankura in 2014, didn't do much in the constituency and she was hardly visible as an MP, Ms Sen said she is not interested in answering such allegations.

"Look I stay in Kolkata, but whenever I have been asked I had gone. I had also utilized MPLAD funds. But if still some people think I have done nothing then it is up to them," she said.

She also refuted allegations that film stars don't make good public representatives and cited examples of several actor-turned-politicians who have been very successful.

Asked about her plans for Asansol, the 65-year-old said she would focus on tackling the menace of pollution in the industrial town and financial empowerment of women in the area.

Replying to the query, whether she would let her daughters Riya Sen and Raima Sen, who too are well-known actors, join politics in future, she said it''s up to them to decide.

The election in Asansol is scheduled to be held on April 29.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pak...d-trinamool-congress-mp-moon-moon-sen-2028563

Such level headed figures are rare in politics, unfortunately TMC is no bastion of righteousness with some opposition workers being murdered in WB in the last 5 years or so and even before that

Will Rahul keep his job if Congress get less than 100 seats again?

Last time round it was 44 seats and before that:

main-qimg-74e19ee1196b13edc0fba11d1314e4e1

How can any sane person within the Congress party accept this dunce as their leader if he fails in yet another general election? It's like selecting a batsman year after year even though he continues to average in the 20s and 30s (Dinesh Karthik, Shoiab Malik??).

It won't happen but Congress should elect someone like Sachin Pilot or Jyotiraditya Scindia as leader if they fail miserably again this time round.

On the other side of the divide will Modi be leader of the opposition if the BJP lose or will he be ousted?

Sri Lanka serial blasts: Island nation's pain fuels ugly debate in India

It is increasingly clear that the Easter Sunday blasts in Sri Lanka could and should have been prevented. Warnings about the group responsible, their intentions and even specific attackers were delivered well in advance. Both President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe have acknowledged that the information did not reach them and wasn’t acted upon.

The two men — and their respective parties — are still at loggerheads after a months-long constitutional crisis last year in which the former tried and failed to fire the latter. The president has attempted to exclude the prime minister from decisions over most national-security issues; a divided and confused Colombo establishment clearly contributed to the security breakdown.

No doubt this will become a factor in elections later this year: Former Defense Minister Gotabhaya Rajapaksa — whose family, led by former president Mahinda Rajapaksa, dominated Sri Lankan politics till a few years ago — recently insisted in an interview with Bloomberg that the government was “never serious” about security and was “more concerned” about reconciliation after Sri Lanka’s decades-long civil war.

Fair enough. In the elections already underway in next-door India, though, the attacks are adding more fuel to an already ugly politics of patriotism and national-security. And accountability is the last thing being discussed.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi was swift to bring up the Sri Lanka attacks as a reason to vote for his Bharatiya Janata Party: A vote for the BJP, he said, was a vote to destroy terrorism of the sort Sri Lanka had suffered.

This feeds into the Modi campaign’s ongoing efforts to exploit high-octane nationalism. The BJP seized upon a confrontation with Pakistan in February to turn the national conversation away from its spotty economic record.

Since the BJP is actually in power, though, it can’t snipe from the outside as the Rajapaksas are doing. So BJP figures have essentially resorted to calling the opposition terrorist sympathizers.

The Congress Party’s fairly detailed election manifesto could have served to open an argument on the most effective way to balance welfare and economic growth. Instead, the BJP has zeroed in on the Congress’ proposal that some particularly draconian and illiberal laws be diluted. Modi’s finance minister, who you’d think would have had plenty to say regarding the opposition’s lack of fiscal mathematics, instead focused on calling their manifesto a “charter to weaken India” and an “agenda for balkanizing India.”

Other rhetoric has been much harsher than that to which Indians are accustomed. Modi’s right-hand man, BJP President Amit Shah, said this week that after an Indian air strike on Pakistan there was “mourning” in just two places: Pakistan and the Congress. This is a familiar charge: Before elections in Modi’s home state of Gujarat a couple years ago, Modi accused his predecessor as prime minister Manmohan Singh of a “secret meeting” with Pakistani diplomats, implying that the latter were seeking to influence the election results.

It has been absurdly easy for Modi and the BJP to make security into a major, if not the primary issue in the election. Unfortunately, this heated rhetoric seems to be considered an adequate replacement for any more rational response.

India’s February air strikes into Pakistan — in retaliation for an attack on an Indian paramilitary convoy in troubled Kashmir — were seen in many quarters as influenced by electoral considerations. Crucially, there has been no accountability for the security failures that led to the convoy bombing. Kashmir is so heavily militarized that a sophisticated attack of that sort should have been prevented.

Unlike in Sri Lanka, nobody in New Delhi has taken responsibility for the original failure. It’s fine to talk about national security during a campaign. But the most important questions aren’t being asked: Why did the attack happen? Which group organized it and how did they build up their strength? How can other such attacks be prevented?

The coarseness of the current debate in India is not just a betrayal of the large part of the electorate that wants a clear discussion of bread-and-butter issues. It is frankly dangerous for national security itself. One hopes Sri Lanka will, over the next few months, have a more productive political dialogue than India has had.

http://www.newindianexpress.com/nat...-pain-fuels-ugly-debate-in-india-1969720.html

The vile oaf Prime Chowkidar is reaching new lows [ if that is possible ] every day that he campaigns .

By the time campaigning ends, he'd have reached Mariana Trench. Such is his desperation for power.

Why is Modi is such a big liar?

https://thewire.in/politics/why-does-narendra-modi-lie

‘Modi is God’s gift to India!’, declared Venkaiah Naidu before taking up the post of vice president.

Even if we assume this to be true and believe that Modi is a great leader who has brought about an epic social-cultural-economic revolution through policies like demonetisation, the question remains, why does this gift of God rely so frequently on patent falsehood?

One answer could be that he is a chronic liar. Some may point sardonically at his putative degree in ‘Entire Political Science’ to explain his ignorance of history. The appeal to ignorance doesn’t wash. Let us look at his latest, quite blatant lie.

At a campaign rally in Bangalore on April 13, 2019, Modi deployed his favourite oratorical tool, the rhetorical question. “Was there even a single terrorist attack on the country when your chowkidar was on duty?” The resounding, Pavlovian response from the crowd was “No”. This was not the first time he asked this particular question. Indeed, it is asked in many posts and videos by the BJP IT Cell, reputed for its ability to conjure up and broadcast fake news, falsehoods and half-truths. The BJP devout dutifully ensure wide and rapid dissemination of these falsehoods via their social media accounts.

BJP leader Nirmala Sitharaman is India’s defence minister. The pressure of constantly having to refute the accusations about the Rafale deal have sharpened her understanding of economics. Her academic credentials are top-flight too: she is a JNU alumna. Nobody can call her a ‘WhatsApp University’ alum. Yet, she stunned the nation by asking this very question in a BJP campaign rally. With this question, Nirmala and her ilk want to establish that there has not been a single terrorist attack or bomb blast during Modi’s term. Because ‘Modi is a chowkidar that sparks fear in the hearts of terrorists.’ Modi, never one to stint on self-congratulation, lauded himself thus in a campaign rally in Ahmednagar.

The questionable hubris of self-praise need not bother us. What is material is this: are the congratulations fairly earned?

There is no cause for dispute if we decide that attacks at Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Amarnath Yatra, Uri, Pulwama etc were not terrorist attacks. But if they are in fact terrorist actions, then what about the martyrs whose name Modi uses to canvass votes? One counter could be that Modi is talking about the India excluding Jammu & Kashmir. Except that data given by the Central government itself refutes this claim. According to a written statement by the Union minister of state for home affairs on December 19, 2018, there were 872 terrorist attacks in Jammu & Kashmir, 1366 acts of terrorism in the North-East and 3045 acts of terrorism involving Naxalites during this period.

This point can also be countered by arguing that Modi is talking about major attacks outside Jammu and Kashmir. What constitutes major and minor terrorist attacks? There is no formal, objective definition for this. We decide the scale of an act of terrorism based on different factors like casualties or target of the attack. The South Asian Terrorism Portal of the Institute for Conflict Management in New Delhi gives a concrete definition of major attacks, according to which a terrorist attack is major if three or more civilians or security personnel are killed. According to this portal, during 2014 and 2018 there have been 388 major acts of terrorism in this country. Even if these are forgotten, what about the Naxalite attack in Dantewada a few days ago? That resulted in death of four security personnel and a BJP leader.

One can indisputably state that Modi and Sitharaman are lying about the scale of recent terrorist attacks in the country. Are we supposed to believe that Modi or his campaign managers did not have access to these statistical reports produced by his own government? If that is the case, then Modi is unfit for the job. But none of his followers will accept that. So, what we are left with is purposeful deceit.

We can provide many examples of Modi’s lies and deceit. But every time the same question will arise – why does this well-respected man feel the need to lie? We must understand this fully. When Modi or Sitharaman deny any occurrence of terrorist activity in the country in the last 5 years of the Modi administration, the aim is to create a definite perception – of Modi’s nationalistic machismo.

When Modi constantly makes statements saying ‘Pakistan is scared of him’, ‘Terrorists shudder at the thought of him’ or ‘Modi is responsible for India’s international prestige’, it is a carefully contrived rhetorical device. Phrases like ‘56” chest’ and ‘red eyes’ are an integral part of this act. Modi’s steely masculinity is constantly exhibited in front of the public.

There are only two exceptions to this. One is the post-demonetisation speech Modi delivered in Panaji. On that occasion, Modi teared up, rather melodramatically, on stage. Crying is considered emasculating, according to the dominant patriarchal rationale, though , today’s metrosexual man displays his liberation from patriarchy by crying without inhibition. It has gained ‘social acceptance’. Modi added his special, contrived, twist to it. He said, ‘I know the kind of power I declared war against. I know the ways in which people will stand against me. They will not leave me alive. They will destroy me. But I shall not yield…’ Even as the country stood for months in unending queues to access their own hard-earned money, Modi declared himself a ‘victim’.

A similar act of victimhood was displayed by him in the last stage of the Gujarat assembly election of 2017. At that time, he claimed that the Congress was plotting against him with the help of Pakistan. (He purposely and forcefully insinuated that ex-PM Manmohan Singh was meeting envoys and military officers of Pakistan at the home of Mani Shankar Aiyyar, with absolutely no proof.)

Modi bravely speaks up against terrorism because he wants a masculine aura around him, and because people want a masculine hero. In order to make this perception even stronger, he denies the Congress or indeed, any of his predecessors in the job of PM, credit for the work they have done. Without a sense of irony, he accuses a party which has lost two of its topmost leaders to terrorism of being sympathetic towards terrorism. Irreverently, he declares that a party whose rule resulted in the partition of Pakistan is scared of fighting Pakistan. And countless people blindly believe him. This creates a perception about Modi. This is the motive behind every lie – creating a desired perception.

Modi’s approach is not an accident, it is textbook propaganda. Social media platforms like WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter are used to spread humorous, utterly fake, made-up information and messages. Despite being educated, experienced, knowledgeable and well-informed we believe many of these messages. As we fall prey to these fake messages, we also fall prey to Modi’s lies.

How do these lies manage to entrap even the best of us? To find an answer to this, we need to analyse the effect ‘repetition; has on us. A renowned American cognitive psychologist, Lisa Fazio of Vanderbilt University, identified the concept of ‘Illusory Truth’. The title of her research thesis was – ‘Knowledge does not protect against illusory truth.’ According to her, if people compare a new statement and a repeated statement, the repeated statement gets more points for truthfulness. The repeated statement is considered to be objectively true by most. This is the effect of the illusory truth!

The ease with which people understand a statement hides the essence of the Illusory Truth. The ease of understanding a statement is called ‘processing fluency’. What happens when a statement is repeated is this process of understanding gets easier in the repetition as compared to an original one. When we hear the same thing two, three, four times, the grasping capacity of our mind expands. We respond to it more quickly. Our mind is tricked into this quick response, this trap of processing fluency. We get a ‘gut feeling’ – deep emotional connect to the truthfulness of the said statement. This is how rumours are spread and this is how rumours are made believable.

For example, when we hear a rumour from a colleague or a relative for the first time, we do not pay much heed to it. But if we keep hearing same rumour from more people, we begin to believe it. The lie, repeated a hundred times, becomes the ‘illusory truth’.

This is why Modi constantly resorts to lies and deceit, and this is why his associates extend and amplify his lies. We then hail these deceitful statements as the ultimate truth out. And the aura of Super Modi, the Master of the Universe, inflates.

Excellent article this. Decodes Modi, the habitual liar. Modi, the biggest liar ever.

Indian elections 2019 live: Bollywood stars, rich vote in fourth phase

Voting began on Monday across 72 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over nine states, mostly in the Hindi heartland, as the fourth phase of the mega seven-phase electoral exercise kicked off.

Some of India's richest families, Bollywood stars and others voted early in the morning in Mumbai and elsewhere in the country.

More than 127 million people are eligible to vote in this round of the seven-phase election held across 71 seats in nine states. Prime Minister Narendra Modi's coalition won more than 75 percent of the seats in the previous election in 2014.

A total electorate of 12.79 crore is eligible to exercise their franchise in this phase covering 17 seats in Maharashtra, including Mumbai's six seats, six in Odisha, 13 in Uttar Pradesh, five in Bihar, and eight in West Bengal, while Rajasthan, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh have their first phase of polls with voting in 13, 3 and 6 constituencies, respectively.

Voting will also be held in the second phase of the staggered polling in Jammu and Kashmir's Anantnag constituency.

The phase will also see polling in the final phase of the Odisha Assembly elections as well the bypoll to Madhya Pradesh's Chhindwara Assembly seat from where Chief Minister Kamal Nath is contesting in order to become a legislator.

Prominent candidates in this phase include Union Minister Babul Supriyo (BJP), who faces yesteryear actor Moon Moon Sen (Trinamool Congress) in West Bengal's Asansol, his colleague Giriraj Singh (BJP), who faces former JNU student leader Kanhaiya Kumar (CPI) in Bihar's Begusarai, film actress Urmila Matondkar (Mumbai North), and Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav's wife Dimple Yadav (Kannauj).

Also contesting are Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot's son Vaibhav Gehlot (Jodhpur), his predecessor Vasundhara Raje's son Dushyant Singh from Jhalawar-Baran, and Kamal Nath's son Nakul Nath in Madhya Pradesh's Chhindwara.

In the fourth phase, the BJP will be defending 45 of the seats it won in the 2014 Lok Sabha battle -- 13 in Rajasthan, 12 in Uttar Pradesh, eight in Maharashtra, five in Madhya Pradesh, three in Bihar, three in Jharkhand and one in West Bengal.

In Maharashtra, all the remaining nine seats were won by the Shiv Sena while in Bihar, the remaining two seats were bagged by BJP's ally Lok Janshakti Party. The Congress got only two -- one in Madhya Pradesh and one in West Bengal.

Among other parties, the Biju Janata Dal won all six in Odisha, the Trinamool Congress six in West Bengal and the Samajwadi Party one in Uttar Pradesh.

With the fourth phase, voting will be completed in all seats of Maharashtra and Odisha. The seven-phase Lok Sabha elections started on April 11 and would conclude on May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Adityanath, Akhilesh urge people to vote

Uttar Pradesh, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav on Monday urged the people to cast their ballots.

"For a prosperous and powerful India, for a strong and decision-making government, to fulfil a dream, make sure you go out of your home and vote. Hope you remember, first vote and then refreshment.

The mercury during summer is high, take care of yourself, but do vote. The government is formed by every one vote," Adityanath said in a series of tweets.

Yadav appealed to the people to vote for a 'mahaparivartan' (great transformation), saying their ballots will prove decisive for the future.

"For a 'mahaparivartan' and to save democracy, unite and exercise your right to fulfil your civilian rights. Today's elections will prove decisive for tomorrow," he tweeted in Hindi.

7:50am

Sakshi Maharaj, Salman Khurshid cast their votes

BJP leader Sakshi Maharaj, who is re-contesting from Unnao parliamentary constituency on Monday exercised his right and said that when the results will be announced the opposition will again blame the electronic voting machines (EVMs).

The godman, who is pitted against Congress's Anu Tandon and Samajwadi Party's Arun Kumar Shukla cast his vote at a Unnao polling booth and said, "Anu Tandon is going to lose even her deposit. No one stands a chance against me here."

He also said: "When Prime Minister Narendra Modi will get more than 400 seats then these people will again raise questions on the functioning of EVMs."

Congress candidate from Farrukhabad and former Union Minister Salman Khurshid also cast his vote in his constituency.

"The fight in my constituency is between the BJP and the Congress. I'm expecting a positive outcome, given (Congress President) Rahul Gandhi and (General Secretary) Priyanka Gandhi have come out all guns blazing."

It was the peope who gave huge mandate to Modi in 2014, he said, adding "He (Modi) has not won on his own."

7:40am

Modi urges people to vote

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday urged the voters to cast their ballots and break polling records of the previous three phases in this fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

https://www.khaleejtimes.com/intern...fourth-phase-of-polling-begins-in-71-seats-12

What an abomination we've as our PM!

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ele...in-touch-with-me-2030253?pfrom=home-topscroll

KOLKATA: Forty legislators of Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress are in contact with the BJP and will change camp as soon as the results are announced, Prime Minister Narendra Modi claimed today. The BJP is targeting 25 of Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha seats and the Prime Minister's extraordinary claim came amid what has practically been a quote-a-day battle with the Bengal Chief Minister.

Addressing a rally in Serampore -- a town less than 30 km from Kolkata -- the Prime Minister said: "Didi, on 23 May, the day of results, the lotus will bloom everywhere and your MLAs will leave you and run. Even today, Didi, 40 of your MLAs are in contact with me".

No wonder he could say all these things as ECI hasn't any credibility left under this despot!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dear India, Vote. <br>Vote for a peaceful region. Vote for a peaceful relationship with Pakistan. Vote for logic. <br><br>Vote!</p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1122849509606920192?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2019</a></blockquote>

Hmm.

15 security personnel killed in an ambush by naxals in Maharashtra.

Apparently their lives count for nothing as they weren't killed by Kashmiri terrorists and naxals aren't terrorists, apparently.

Where is 56" btw? Busy campaigning as always? And done with usual crap of perpetrators will be punished?

Number of security personnel killed under this despot increases all the time. He has another term to scale newer heights though.

15 security personnel killed in an ambush by naxals in Maharashtra.

Apparently their lives count for nothing as they weren't killed by Kashmiri terrorists and naxals aren't terrorists, apparently.

Where is 56" btw? Busy campaigning as always? And done with usual crap of perpetrators will be punished?

Do you know something else ? 100,000s of people die every year in our country without proper medical health and 10,000 kids die every year without lack of food/medicine. But again, no one cares.

Guess what, fake nationalist Akshay Kumar didn't even vote in these elections. However he is ahead of everyone in encashing nationalism at box office.

Guess when 56" asked him to ask his fans to vote, his reply was

Akshay wrote, “Well said [MENTION=140582]Naren[/MENTION]dramodi ji. The true hallmark of a democracy lies in people’s participation in the electoral process. Voting has to be a superhit prem katha between our nation and its voters.”

Lol, what a hypocrite!

He didn’t vote because he’s not Indian - not an Indian citizen I mean. He is a citizen and passport holder of Canada. He’s lied about this in the past too by claiming he’s just an “honorary” citizen of Canada implying that he’s not a full citizen which is rubbish.

https://www.altnews.in/fact-check-does-akshay-kumar-hold-honorary-citizenship-of-canada/

He’s also spoke in the past about dual citizenship which again is a lie as while Canada allows dial citizenship India does not.

Guess what, fake nationalist Akshay Kumar didn't even vote in these elections. However he is ahead of everyone in encashing nationalism at box office.

Guess when 56" asked him to ask his fans to vote, his reply was

Akshay wrote, “Well said [MENTION=140582]Naren[/MENTION]dramodi ji. The true hallmark of a democracy lies in people’s participation in the electoral process. Voting has to be a superhit prem katha between our nation and its voters.”

Lol, what a hypocrite!

So he is a even bigger fake than I thought he was. No wonder he is world's 7th richest actor. Nationalism has always sold like hot cake in India.

Also 56" could only find such a fake for that non political interview? 1 fake attracts another fake.

So he is a even bigger fake than I thought he was. No wonder he is world's 7th richest actor. Nationalism has always sold like hot cake in India.

Also 56" could only find such a fake for that non political interview? 1 fake attracts another fake.

He's getting cornered on twitter. LMAO

56" should also have been blasted for consenting to give that 'non political' interview to a foreigner. Do we have no other good home grown journalists?