Pakistan Vs South Africa: Test 1: Day 4 Score updates and comments

Excellent fightback by both nazir and rana, inzamam and kamran should really learn a thing from these tailenders rather than wasting opportunities.

how good it is when yuor own tailenders score, but when this happens the other way around it really p***** you off... hehehe

Just goes to show - technique ek jagah ..aur jazbah and jigar ek jagah (whatever that means ) ..Shahid playing with Jazbah and Jigar

We're getting there, and the scary thing for the Saffies is that we still have Kaneria to come :D

85.2 Nel to Shahid Nazir, FOUR

85.1 Nel to Shahid Nazir, FOUR, take that! this is getting interesting. Nel pitched it up on the middle and off stump line. Nazir lines it up nicely and lofts it down to the long-on fence. Clean hit and this partnership is now worth 31

Superb stuff from nazir this is magnificent stuff. WE love you shahid nazir !!! ;-) :14: :19:

235 for 7. The over ends from a frustrated Nel

hey how about Nazir play at number 6 instead of that loser Iqbal?

i m sure we will be better off

Shahid for President ... !! As an afterthought how about playing Shahid Nazir as a specialist batsman in the next match ... :))

Leg glance by nazir for 2, superb stop from Nel.

lead 133

Dropped.

Hook shot from nazir and pollock drops a dolly!

come on nazir!

UJ said:
We're getting there, and the scary thing for the Saffies is that we still have Kaneria to come :D
You always forget Asif- he is not much different to Danish in his batting abilities :))
Pollock drops a sitter!!
Go SA--not!!

CrickFan said:
Just goes to show - technique ek jagah ..aur jazbah and jigar ek jagah (whatever that means ) ..Shahid playing with Jazbah and Jigar

If only inzamam and kamran had played like this than pakistan's position would have been strengthened. Anyways excellent spirit and aggression shown by nazir and rana. I agree with you crickFan that more than technique you need jazba and jigar which inzamam and kamran lacked today.

Shabaash nazir and rana, our TRUE CORNERED TIGERS TODAY ! :19:

South Africa have dropped a few and taken one blinder

the dreaded pull shot again.

Pollock drops what was a sitter, slid and the ball fell out of his hands

lovely cut shot by Rana.

Glorious shot for 4.

i m excited coz DK is yet to come and boy that guy can play some big shots...
this is good fight by the Pakistanis....GO PAK

Pakistani pair having a lot of luck, but they are fighting hard and staying in line

thats tea.

243 for 7. Partnership of 44.

Stunning cut shot by Rana ..4 runs ..man this is reminding me of Azhar Mehmood's heroics on SA tour ..Well done Shers ..We are proud of you - Shahid and Rana

Tea - Pakistan 243/7

well done nazir and Rana.

inshallah we can get lead to 170-90

Rana and s nazir the 2nd highest partnership off the inns.

Says it all about the top order!

TheSaint said:
You always forget Asif- he is not much different to Danish in his batting abilities :))
Pollock drops a sitter!!
Go SA--not!!

Shukar hai ALLAH KA...that the catch was dropped !!! SUBANALLAH

Nazir has scored more runs in one innings that IQbal probaly has inthe past 5! lol

damn it - a tea break is not what pak need..or do they?

break in innings is as big a partnership breaker as tight bowling...

great going by these two.

Another boundary by Rana 243- 7 Lead of 139

And Tea is taken, well played by Rana and Nazir so far, partnership of 44 off 50 balls.

very good p'ship.. if they carry on and get it to about 160 i think we have a fighting chace.. keep going rana and nazir :)

Amir said:
Nazir has scored more runs in one innings that IQbal probaly has inthe past 5! lol

So Amir, who gets dropped, Rana or Nazir when Shoaib comes back?

Nazir doing what Rana did in the 1st innings..

Shahid Nazir for opener! :D this is a heartening partnership, knowing that they arent folding just like that,....even though it'll still be a near impossible job for Pakistan to win, it now doesnt feel as bad. :)

guys dont worry...we still have Asif and DK coming next..they both can play some just...inshaallah we will be just fine....
umeed per dunya kayem hai maray bhaiyo..

Well done shahid n rana!!

Hope the these two and the remaining "batsmen" can score half cenuries each today... Let´s hope at least :)

New ball does it for us-- good show by the boys- hope that they can get a few more of these quick runs as then the pressure will be on the SA side.

Good stuff from Nazir and Rana. Typical Pakistani fightback.

A lot of short stuff from the South Africans which has meant that Nazir and Rana have been able to move their left legs out the way and swing the ball to the leg side.

Great spirit from the 2 bowlers.

Good to see the team not giving up without a fight, a lead of 170-180 and who knows what might happen.

Great stuff from Shahid and Rana

Don't set any targets.........just keeping going. These are tailenders now. Think of every run we make as a bonus.

86.6 Ntini to Naved-ul-Hasan, 1 run, wokred away off the back-foot to the square leg region, easy single to end the over

86.5 Ntini to Naved-ul-Hasan, FOUR, four more! short and wide outside the off stump, Rana makes room and cuts it away to the backward point fence. Harris hurtles across in the deep but the diving effort ends in vain

86.4 Ntini to Naved-ul-Hasan, no run, played away towards gully

86.3 Ntini to Shahid Nazir, 1 run, DROPPED! short ball and Nazir goes for the pull, ball clips the top edge and balloons up towards midwicket. Pollock running in from mid-on, gets there but the ball pops out at the last moment. Looked like he had it covered but the ball popped out as he hit the deck - it's all happening here

86.2 Ntini to Shahid Nazir, 2 runs, pitched up and drifting down the leg side, Nazir stays back and clips it away to fine leg. Fantastic effort from Nel in the deep cuts off a certain boundary. Nazir moves to 30

86.1 Ntini to Shahid Nazir, no run, good length delivery and this one shapes away from the right-hander. Nazir backs away and drives but ends up playing inside the line as he expected the ball to come in

I have to say that nazir and rana has really lightened up our day with such spirited, aggressive and daring batting. If only inzamam and kamran had not gone into a defensive mode than pakistan could have had more runs to play with. Anyways ALHAMDOLILLAH nazir and rana making us extremely proud. Nel and ntini taken to the cleaners today !

if the last 2 can add even 10-15 runs, that takes our lead to 150+,

so can anyone get some data on when or IF (I assume we HAVE), bowled out a team to win a TEST .. 4th innings.. and the lowest # of runs that we had..

SameerAhmad said:
Shahid Nazir for opener! :D this is a heartening partnership, knowing that they arent folding just like that,....even though it'll still be a near impossible job for Pakistan to win, it now doesnt feel as bad. :)

I know it's difficult to defend a small target but atleast pakistan team is putting up a fight which is what we want and than who knows we might win INSHALLAH.

DotCom said:
if the last 2 can add even 10-15 runs, that takes our lead to 150+,

so can anyone get some data on when or IF (I assume we HAVE), bowled out a team to win a TEST .. 4th innings.. and the lowest # of runs that we had..

IF I remember correctly (disclaimer- I may be making a mistake) we once set the Kiwis a target of 110 and still won.

Ahem!.......

Pace said:
It would be dream come true if Rana and Shahid can do a little rear guard action. Break some sort of record. Followed by a SA collapse at 80 ish. Wishful thinking I guess. I'm just trying to cheer you guys up.

Absolute inspirational stuff by these two. The break could be bad in the sense that it gives the Saffies time to regroup and try to get back to the basics by bowling it fuller and on the stumps. I have greater faith in my tailenders! :D Lets hope they can smack it around till 160-180. This is shock therapy for the Saffies. The Indians must be used to this by now, but not these guys!

Current partnership 44 runs, 8.2 overs, RR: 5.28 (Shahid Nazir 31, Naved-ul-Hasan 13

MASHALLAH ! Nearly 50 runs partnership !, who could have imagined this when inzi and kammi got out. MASHALLAH

Now where are all those peeps that said this would be over by tea?

IF I remember correctly (disclaimer- I may be making a mistake) we once set the Kiwis a target of 110 and still won.

Wehn was this?

My lineup for next match:

Mohammad Hafeez
Imran Farhat
Younis Khan
M. Yousuf
Inzamam-ul-Haq
Yasir Hameed
Kamran Akmal
Naved-ul-Hasan
Shoaib Akhtar
Danish Kaneria
M. Asif

UJ said:
Now where are all those peeps that said this would be over by tea?

I thought this match was going to be over in 3 days, according to some experts ? :p

Yes that was during the heydays of the two Ws. I remember seeing the legends of cricket video of Akram and they showd that match too.

ahmadrulz said:
Absolute inspirational stuff by these two. The break could be bad in the sense that it gives the Saffies time to regroup and try to get back to the basics by bowling it fuller and on the stumps. I have greater faith in my tailenders! :D Lets hope they can smack it around till 160-180. This is shock therapy for the Saffies. The Indians must be used to this by now, but not these guys!

If they can regroup than i am sure so will rana and nazir with the tea break. I hope rana and nazir can continue like this for atleast 30 mins more. INSHALLAH

These two janbaaz are showing the so called specialists how to bat - Akmal you are nothing more than a chancy flat track bully .. Inzy bhai - I am a great fan of yours but your performances in SA and Australia will always be a blot in your career .. But for the time being - Shahid Nazir - you are awesome .. Teray jazbey ko Salaam !!

It makes you really wonder about the tactics adopted by the specialist batsmen when these two tail-enders are able to score so quickly/easily. Sure, they've had a bit of fortune, but the attitude has been right and the shots have been well played.

The thing is though - if these two guys can bat so easily, what about SA? Their specialist batsmen will also get a bit of encouragement from this display.

I hope the last 3 wickets can add on another 40-50 runs to get Pak up to around 190. That would give the bowlers something to play with.

I just hope we dont lose any wickets straight after lunch.

go out boys and be postive!

93? 94? something around then

Man that was 10 years ago (and over)! You can't use that now considering we had Wasim and Waqar back then and pitches were much more sporting in that era.

However if it i sany positive....in 2003 we bowled NZ out for 110 after conceding a 170 run lead! And than went on to win the match.....but it was Shoaib who ripped out NZ :(