West Indies v Pakistan | 1st Test | Sabina Park, Kingston | Apr 21-25, 2017 | Day 4

Misbah Surprise Six™ continues to be the greatest sight in all of cricket.

:salute

So yesterday at tea, Younis ended at 9999, today at lunch Misbah ends at 4998.

Apparently these guys don't believe in having a meal or a cuppa in peace.

Misbah into nervous 40s. Expect these last 10 runs to be scored in 50 odd balls.

Sheesh, give it a rest we know you don't like the guy - we got it from your first 20 posts in this thread.

He's retiring after the series so you can breathe easy then.

Why not teams play only fast bowlers against pakistan. Pakistan will find it very hard to score.

Misbah Surprise Six™ continues to be the greatest sight in all of cricket.

:salute

Misbah hit a 6 !!!!!

guy-waking-up-startled.gif

giphy.gif

So yesterday at tea, Younis ended at 9999, today at lunch Misbah ends at 4998.

Apparently these guys don't believe in having a meal or a cuppa in peace.

Yah but sarfraz got to 2000 before lunch.

Lets hope this series bring 100 wickets for amir also. A series of milestones.

This is now the biggest partnership between these two in tests.

If you're watching on Sky, they're showing Wasim Akram's Sky Sports bowling masterclass from a few years ago.

Cue the inevitable "lock your wrist and flick it" jokes.

Want Sarfraz to score a big daddy hundred even if it is quick whatever to justify his name being nominated for test captaincy...

Daddy shoro.. abhi tou toddler hundred bhi chalaygi. Aglay end se tou koi run nahi ahrahay.

In the absence of Rahat Ali, none of our bowlers are particularly great with the bat so who would you have sent to handle Bishoo with ease?

He is a leftie and the rough is outside his off. Should have sent yasir shah.

Pathetic from Sarfraz

It's so annoying to see not him get a big one after scoring a fluent fifty, it's become a norm for him

Daddy shoro.. abhi tou toddler hundred bhi chalaygi. Aglay end se tou koi run nahi ahrahay.

nahi chalayga bhai...he is gone with another 50... this is the best he can do, he has a double hundred in domestics why not in int'l...... gillespie has a double ton, wasim akram has a double ton, vettori has a 140, broad stamped highest score against pak of 169..

I think once he gets some fluency in his innings he starts taking things too easy and taking the bowlers for granted. Aglay bhi khelnay aye hain. Sarf needs to improve his concentration levels once he crosses 50.

Lool another drop. how many chances these Windies are going to miss? Even club sides would do better in the field. Pakistan has no excuse not to thrash this side.

Amir shouldn't hang around - get quick 20 & get ready for bowling with new ball. No point wasting energy on blocking.

Amir is a better batsmen then shan. Should concentrate on his batting a bit too, can easily average 20 plus with the bat.

He is a leftie and the rough is outside his off. Should have sent yasir shah.

Yeah but is Yasir Shah going to be significantly better than Amir?

Not to mention that Amir can hit with the spin when the time to accelerate comes.

Amir shouldn't hang around - get quick 20 & get ready for bowling with new ball. No point wasting energy on blocking.
How do you rate amirs batting. Personally I think he's got some potential.

Not to mention that Amir can hit with the spin when the time to accelerate comes.

Also, Yasir is a survival mood - Amir can hit with the spin for a quick 25.

Amir is batting well , its easier for a right hander to just pad the ball outside his leg.

Also, Yasir is a survival mood - Amir can hit with the spin for a quick 25.

We don't want a quick 25, we want him to hang around and build a substantial partnership. A lead of 90 is useless, no matter how quickly we achieve it.

I think once he gets some fluency in his innings he starts taking things too easy and taking the bowlers for granted. Aglay bhi khelnay aye hain.
Sarf needs to improve his concentration levels once he crosses 50.

yes he has this issue mentally... dont know how to describe that but if he has to be a test captain i dont think he deserve it.. I would still back Azhar ali and he is more deserved to take the test captaincy than sarfraz ...

Ok misbah - you have to start hitting now and try push the lead close to 100

Wahab sent ahead of Yasir, means the plan is to play a few shots I guess.

How do you rate amirs batting. Personally I think he's got some potential.

To reach a decent level (say average 25), it's more of how much time & energy you want to give at nets. Even, Yasir or Wahab can do that. For a fast bowling all-rounder, the work load is almost 3 times than a batsman or even spin all-rounder. Wasim & Marshall could have averaged around 30, had they got the tenacity of Imran, Kapil & Botham probably 40+

At the moment, Amir should focus on fixing his bowling & increase hitting power - may be a year or 2, he can put lot more time in batting. Also, PAK all-rounders don't develop catching ability, which doesn't help them in fielding - Captains are forced to put fast bowlers on line. Amir should focus on catching as well, so that he can rest at 3rd slip during spells. Marshall, Holding, Garner, Lillee, Hadlee, Pollock, Willis, even Donald .... most of them fielded at 3rd slip or gully, not to mention Kallis, Sobers, Miller, Kapil or Botham fielding at 2nd slip for almost entire career.

Pakistani fans shouldn't be bashing poor Hafeez and Shehzad playing slow when their most respected gentleman of cricket plays the game their way.

Pakistan needs to have a lead of 150 but both Sarfraz and Amir give away wickets :facepalm:

Surely Misbah should attack the spinners now

he is playing for time. he does not want to bat again. Better teams would bat WI out of this game lookin at the ball doing not much but we are not better team./

Misbah should try to hog the strike until his partners comes to senses and start playing properly

We don't want a quick 25, we want him to hang around and build a substantial partnership. A lead of 90 is useless, no matter how quickly we achieve it.

Tat's true, had 150 overs not been lost. Here PAK can only try to enforce the issue.

Abbas's FC average is 7.60, which indicates this is PAK's last pair.

Man our tailenders don't offer anywhere near enough with the bat. 8-11 seem capable of 25 runs max, need more.

Tat's true, had 150 overs not been lost. Here PAK can only try to enforce the issue.

There was no need to force things at that time, we still have another 20-25 overs left to bat which is 100 runs at the rate Sarfraz and Misbah were going and gets us close to that 200 run lead without adding on the extra runs that would have come from accelerating at the end of the innings.

The way it works is you work out how much time you think you will need to bowl the Windies out, that's probably 4 sessions or thereabouts. So you bat until tea, which gives us a lead of 200 without taking too many risks, if Misbah and Sarfraz could bat for that long then they could afford to really go all guns blazing for the last hour and tack on another 50-60 runs.

Now, because we've lost wickets we're in a situation where we'll probably get bowled out for a lead of under 100, which gives the Windies enough time to not only wipe out the deficit by stumps tonight but to potentially leave us with a tricky chase on the 5th day.

People who were crying about run rate last night and this morning are unable to see the big picture because they're too busy with chest thumping about "aggression" or petty point scoring

There was no need to force things at that time, we still have another 20-25 overs left to bat which is 100 runs at the rate Sarfraz and Misbah were going and gets us close to that 200 run lead without adding on the extra runs that would have come from accelerating at the end of the innings.

The way it works is you work out how much time you think you will need to bowl the Windies out, that's probably 4 sessions or thereabouts. So you bat until tea, which gives us a lead of 200 without taking too many risks, if Misbah and Sarfraz could bat for that long then they could afford to really go all guns blazing for the last hour and tack on another 50-60 runs.

Now, because we've lost wickets we're in a situation where we'll probably get bowled out for a lead of under 100, which gives the Windies enough time to not only wipe out the deficit by stumps tonight but to potentially leave us with a tricky chase on the 5th day.

People who were crying about run rate last night and this morning are unable to see the big picture because they're too busy with chest thumping about "aggression" or petty point scoring
it's nothing about aggression. It's about level of skills. batting at 30 strike rate on this road is criminal.

Given the option I will always take 54 runs in 70 balls versus 22 in 67. There is no point in blocking if you are going to get out after getting a start.

I don't think there was any plan to play aggressively. This is how Sarfaraz plays. Misbah was/is his usual self batting with a S/R of under 40.

People who were crying about run rate last night and this morning are completely clueless.

Then, there shouldn't have been 90% vote in favor of PAK winning this series, the way you are putting it. If you don't have the confidence to play out 35 overs in 4th innings against WI, then no strategy will work. Also, run rate & last nights "efforts" are not exposed here because WI dropped few & Sarfu played a magnificent counter attack - other wise clueful strategy did enough to put PAK at 290/9 now - then that 4th innings tricky 35 overs would have been 75 overs............