Pakistan Vs West Indies,Test 1, Day 4 Thread [29/5/05]

Place all updates here - can afridi produce a master piece, or can asim battle. Will the rain be a factor or will the windies blow pakistan away?

Overnight scores:

West Indies 345 & 371
Pakistan 144 & 113/4 (23.0 ov) Pakistan require another 460 runs with 6 wickets remaining

Anyone who thinks Afridi will become Hanif Mohommad and save Pakistan's skin needs a reality check, there is nothing much to talk about in day 4 except wickets falling.

Nauman said:
Anyone who thinks Afridi will become Hanif Mohommad and save Pakistan's skin needs a reality check, there is nothing much to talk about in day 4 except wickets falling.

Afridi will not become Hanif...he is Hanif!!!! Sorry I felt the need to be optimisitcly stupid for once. I deserve it after being so real throughout the test!

AmitMishra bowls wrongun said:
4 wickets to fall - reminds me of Mohali :D

but theres 6 to fall

[-( [-( [-(

listen stranger things of happend ( alothough very unlikely)

my prediction - if Fidel Edwards returns to bowl we should be gone by around lunch, otherwise we might just last the day.

game will be over at lunch @ earliest and tea the latest on day 4

salaam amjid bhai

thats a bit optimistic isnt for u

btw howz it goin

v.salam jjp, ive been ill for last few days but am getting better mashallah. otherwise all is well.

how r u?

exams left rite nad centre

2 more left make dua for me inshallh i pass with flying colours

inshallah

Asim Kamal 172
Shahid Afridi 78
Kamran Akmal 110
Abdur Razzaq 75
Rana 25

= 460

oh and I just saw a pig fly.

Afridi to score a triple centruy as Pakistan chase the mammoth score before tea :D

IF ever in his life Afridi has dreamed of establishing himself as a test batsman this is the ideal moment for him to do it

1) - He has plenty of time left in his hand
2) - HE does not have to worry abt any declarations frm the captain

3)- He is not under any team pressure to score quickly so he can play himself in
4)- Pakistan team is in a pressure cooker situation so if he perfporms today tht mean tht he has the mental toughness to be a gud test batsman

gary - u care to talk about the rest of the indian tour???? WHAT ABOUT AFRIDI MAKING that pregnant chamcha his bunny. Afridi a so called bits and pieces player and a odi specialist - and i know u have said worse about him BUT HE DESTROYED INDIA! ur chamcha attack look baffled, he tore apart kumble and the other muppets.

CARE TO SPEAK MORE ON IT? OR HOW ABOUT THE ODI SERIES

Pax said:
Afridi to score a triple centruy as Pakistan chase the mammoth score before tea :D
He will chase down the total and not play for a draw

Knowing Afridi..when he comes out to bat he will either be thinking "Ima win this one" OR "Screw it, lets just go crazyyyyyy" -gets out 3rd ball again

HE WILL NOT AIM FOR A DRAW.

Well guys though the target is looking too big to chase

but if we bat the whole of day 4 and even lose 4 more wickts today
then even a modest runrate wud get us some wht 350 runs in the day

so we ll be neding around 120 tommorow with 2 wickets remaining and tht is getable
if our tail supports our cause

that is true hussain, we could do ok - if kamal and afridi stay there for a while as they score fast.

IF EDWARDS IS NOT FIT

that leaves

king - distinctly average thus far, flukes his wickets in first innings and will get slapped about

collymore - swung the ball nicely - just play him out

powell - just wait for the bad ball - he provides his fair share

gayle - no real threat unless we try to be over aggressive

If we stay there a while they may use likes of sarwan

Hello and welcome to Wisden Cricinfo's live coverage for the fourth
day's play of the first test between West Indies and Pakistan
being played at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
Players and Umpires are coming to the middle
Play is about to start
Collymore to start the proceddings for West Indies
Shahid Afridi to face Collymore

23.2 Collymore to Shahid Afridi, one run, turned to leg
23.1 Collymore to Shahid Afridi, two runs, driven to mid-on for couple
of runs

24.3 Gayle to Shahid Afridi, three runs, cut past slips to third man
Smith dropped that easy catch
24.2 Gayle to Shahid Afridi, no run
24.1 Gayle to Shahid Afridi, FOUR, Dropped! driven hard to long-off and
a simple catch was dropped

Gayle to bowl

24.1 Gayle to Shahid Afridi, FOUR, Dropped! driven hard to long-off and a simple catch was dropped

WTH WAS AFRIDI DOING almost got caught first ball the shot for 3 he played after that was good keep THAT up ...

126/4

Afridi not out 42
Kamal not out 41

both of them have got good scores..into their 40's

they should convert into 50's or even 100 (especially for kamal) even if pak aren't going to win.

128/4

Afridi not out 42
Kamal not out 43

Afridi on 46....can he get his test fifty!!!! It will be his third since his comeback if i am not mistaken(dont forget his 48 against aus)

heaved away to deep mid wicket for four

137/4

Afridi not out 47
Kamal not out 47

SIXXXXXX Fifty for afridi, it is his 7th

27.2 Collymore to Shahid Afridi, no run, guided to point
deep square leg fielder is installed for Afridi

149/4

Afridi not out 54
Kamal not out 51

150/4

Afridi not out 55
Kamal not out 51

Kamal almost out, lucky the ball wedged inbetween his grill and his helemt

I do not understand, why they did not bat like this in the first innings, instead of chasing wide deliveries.

Collymore to Shahid Afridi
short and wide outside off, comes on the front foot and opens the face of the bat to runs it down to vacant third man region for four

afridi playing smart Mashallah

This partnership is important, we may not win, but it will atleast we can save some pride and it will boost the teams morale to bat better next test.

Like in Mohali, Akmals inning sparked us to play well, had he had not done that and we lost bad, we would get slaughtered even more next test.

160/4

Afridi not out 61
Kamal not out 55

Gayle to Asim Kamal
comes down the wicket and drives it down the ground to mid-on for four

why they in such a rush, are they trying best not to get out by playing their natural attacking game? and not get bogged down?

I think that they have been asked to play shots while not attempting wild hits so that if we can somehow win then we don't need to bat all the overs, as taha said at this rate we only need to bat something like 78 overs more

tahaqureshi said:
Gayle to Asim Kamal
comes down the wicket and drives it down the ground to mid-on for four

why they in such a rush, are they trying best not to get out by playing their natural attacking game? and not get bogged down?
B'coz they knew k harna tu hai hi kuch kam runs say haaro :D

Yes pakistan is going to lose
thats for sure
they are playing for quick runs
they have all the time
still more than 170overs
so only runrate of 2-3 would be ideal
but so we will see the wickets of afridi and ca. falling in no time

pakmandanish said:
Yes pakistan is going to lose
thats for sure
they are playing for quick runs
they have all the time
still more than 170overs
so only runrate of 2-3 would be ideal
but so we will see the wickets of afridi and ca. falling in no time

Even if they play slow they will lose, this match is lost. But it is smart what they are doing, they are playing reverse psycholigly, making chanders go on defensive and then settle onto a innings. This sends a message for the next test.

probably to unsettle the bowlers and confussed Chanderpaul (he is not that experinced)

Kamal gone! Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!